Trend online scanner

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by maddawgz, Aug 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    What is up with Trend housecall, it has been down for weeks..:mad:

    Service Temporarily Unavailable
    The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It is possible they are converting to their new type of scanning engine and their online scanning is offline till it is in place.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    6.5 works fine on my windows 2000 virtual machine (cant test on main machine since it runs vista)


    it says version 6.6 is a prerelease
    link
    doesnt support mac or linux yet.
    i get a server unavaliable message if i try to use the 6.6 version.
    so if you have got vista you will have to wait until 6.6 comes online. thats if you dont mind using prereleased software.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  4. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks that worked ok:D
     
  5. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    FWIW Bitdefender, F-Secure, and NOD32 have online scanners that detect and remove. Trend has mediocre detection rates, and they pulled out of the VB100 tests since they keep failing..... :cautious:
     
  6. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    But Trend is the only one with a Java based scanner (and not ActiveX). Hence I can run it on my Linux Samba server, to check if dumbfool has downloaded malware and stored it in his account.
     
  7. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
  8. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  9. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    That's ok, Kasperky has never found anything on my laptop to remove anyway.... :thumb:

    But for others who may have become infected, yeah, I get your point, then Kasperksy is useless.

    But then again, they can download the free trial version and clean anything that the online scanner found.

    Btw, is this the webpage you refer to that is good to use?

    http://www.pandasecurity.com/homeusers/solutions/activescan/
     
  10. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  11. progress

    progress Guest

    Trend Online Scanner with Java doesn't work on my machine :thumbd: I always get this message when i click next: Please choose directories and files!
    Can anyone help me?

    Is there any way to deinstall it?
     
  12. ola nordmann

    ola nordmann Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Why not use a regular on-demand scanner instead of web-based? I find it a lot easier and faster than online-scanners. Especially Housecall, because I've had lots of trouble running it. I dont know what Trend is doing, because it used to work great in the the old days. In fact they were the first company to launch an online-scanner :)

    I normally use F-Prot on my linux computers (free for personal use). I've also used ClamAV (free software), which is included in many distributions.
     
  13. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I have ClamAV but its decent at best. I can't use F-Prot and others, because they are for personal use and not commercial usage.

    I use Housecall, strictly as a 2nd/3rd opinion. Thats all :D
     
  14. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Could you post a screenshot ? I am not sure, what is the problem you are facing.
     
  15. progress

    progress Guest

    Everything ok with ActiveX, but no scan with Java version :'(
     

    Attached Files:

  16. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Close the browser and try again.
    This time Housecall will prompt you if you want to use a * different kernel *. Housecall records if a scan was successful, if its not it asks you to load older kernel. Try it, it might work for you.

    Trend-Housecall.jpg

    Also ensure, you are not running any sandboxing software and that when the prompt came for Java VR, you allowed the execution on disk of Housecall.

    If it still doesn't work, use the support tab and send them an email. Trend Micro has probably the best support team (among AV companies). I am sure they will get back to you real soon.
     
  17. progress

    progress Guest

    It works now, thank you for helping me ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2008
  18. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    willkommen :D
     
  19. progress

    progress Guest

    Kaspersky Online Scanner 7 also doesn't require ActiveX and it works with Firefox! :-*

    Time for me to dump Trend Online Scanner with mediocre detection ...
     
  20. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Actually I use *nix file servers and Trend Online Java Scanner is the only one that seems to work.

    I haven't tried the new Kaspersky scanner.... Thanks :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.