Trend Micro 2009 range released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vijayind, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @david_h
    Please contact Trend Micro about this issue, they'll sure help you out. :)
     
  2. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    login into Tred Micro > My Account

    Check your subscription (type/version), no.of PC license and also on how many PCs it has registered you.

    Then click on the download options, to download the retail installer and install.

    Hope this helps.:thumb:
     
  3. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    i have the same problem,and you need to contact the support (via chat) and they will give you a new key like this:
    XDEF-0012-****-****-****

    is the new keys for ispro
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2008
  4. mannagills

    mannagills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Michigan
    Installed a trial of the Pro version and it caused IE7 to stop working. Removed TMIS and IE7 is all better. Too bad, because I really like the interface.
     
  5. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    i don't have that issue,try reinstall again the product,in option contact chat support and they will help you fixing that issue
     
  6. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Yes - the help person on the chat line gave me an XDEF key which I am sure will work but they didn't formalise the process of changing my old key to the new one. Therefore all I have is an official invoice with my old serial number which is my sole evidence I legally purchased the product. There is no evidence that I obtained the new s/n by proper means. I am concerned that if I run into a problem down the track the lack of documentation around my obtaining a new s/n will bite me.
     
  7. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    no,you only need to have the register key,on your account,and your old key will be desactivat 24 hours,before you activate de new one,there is no problem,with that,i have to do the same,they ask for my old key,give me a new one,i register and 24 hours before my old key was desactivat,and my new 2009 work great,without problem,so don't be afraid.*puppy*


    the news keys,is a process to combat the piracy,and desting the people who have buy the is2009,and the people have bui is pro 2009
     
  8. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I'll repeat my earlier assertion - I should have known better than to try such a new product. It took me days to recover when TMIS PRO 2008 was released last year. I have now been able to upgrade to TMIS PRO 2009 (after going through endless chat and email exchanges with Trend support only finally to be given a new serial number).

    It worked fine until I had to reboot at which point the computer hung at the welcome screen.

    Fixed it by starting in safe mode and uninstalling TMIS PRO 2009 and installing NIS 2009.

    Maybe in a month or two I will try installing TMIS PRO 2009 on my other computers when they have sorted it out.
     
  9. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Same thing happened on my second Vista pc. The problem occurs when the TMIS keyboard encryption feature is enabled in IE7. PC locks up completely and doesn't respond to ctl alt del. After several forced restarts the encryption feature magically disabled itself and the computer again operated normally. I am surprised such a basic issue was missed in testing. TM tout keyboard encryption as one of their key features that separate them from their opposition. Pity it doesn't work in Vista. Seems to work with XP so I think it has something to do with Vista's UAC.
     
  10. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    With all the problems on there forum this seems to be the only thing they have going for them. :(
     
  11. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    You mean the issues mentioned in this topic? TIS2009 is working quite fine for most people, not exceptional more (or less :p ) issues then Norton of McAfee users.
     
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    last I seen the Norton boards were pretty quite. unless you consider praising a product a Tech issue.
     
  13. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I would be interested to know if anyone has not had problems with this combination : Vista, IE7 and TMIS keystroke encryption turned on? Remember Trend use this encryption feature in their advertisements to differentiate from their opposition.
     
  14. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    No problems for me. I am using Vista SP1 (32-bit), IE7 and TMIS Pro 2009. No issues so far...
    On another system, I have Vista SP1 (32-bit), IE 8 beta 2 and TMIS Pro 2009. No issues there too...

    The only issue I had was, inability to install TM-Toolbar in Firefox. The issue was due to ZAFF, chat with tech support solved it in minutes.
     
  15. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    And you are sure that keystroke encryption is shown as turned on in IE7?
     
  16. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    By default its off. You have to switch it on, via the icon provided on the Trend Micro Toolbar in IE7.
    After you enable it, you will get a UAC prompt. Then you will see a icon on system tray for the KB-Encryption.

    Tried and tested with Zemana Keylogger test app. With KB-Encryption enabled no keystroke is detected. But on disabling, keystroke is logged.
     
  17. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I can see it is disabled by default. When I turn it on that is when the computer locks-up. I would say it was just me but it has happened on both my Vista computers (one Vista Ultimate and the other Vista Home Premium). All works fine on my XP PC's though.
     
  18. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    88
    You can get a 90 day trial thru Microsoft and see how it works.
     
  19. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    Can someone confirm me what is the latest program build. I have 17.0.1224.
     
  20. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Yes, its the latest. The PUG servers have been updated last week. So TIS 2008 users with valid subscription, should see auto-upgrade.
     
  21. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    does this include their new "in the cloud" technology?
     
  22. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    I think Yes...according to Their statement on website...
     
  23. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249

    yes is correct,that is the latest program build
     
  24. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    I think They did a nice job with 2009 edition...
     
  25. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Its yes and no. See here.
    Trend Micro's solution is called Trend Micro™ Smart Protection Network which only checks for web based threats.
    So unlike McAfee Artemis and Panda CI , Trend Micro does not send every suspicious file to "cloud server" for analysis. Trend Micro Smart Protection Network, instead crawls the web to blacklist and log, websites, files present and spam mail ids. So when you surf,check mail or download any file Trend Micro will via its Cloud Network check to ensure the contents are safe.

    See white paper for more details:
    http://itw.trendmicro.com/smart-protection-network/pdfs/SmartProtectionNetwork_WhitePaper.pdf
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. mood
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,328
  2. chabbo
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    4,136
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.