Trend Micro 2009 range released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vijayind, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Trend Micro has officially released its 2009 range of security products for North America and rest of the world.

    To see the comparison/pricing/info about various product versions, click here:
    http://us.trendmicro.com/us/products/personal/product-comparison/index.html
     
  2. Murtadh

    Murtadh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Qatif
    I always liked trend micro but the only problem which faced me is the very big daily size for the update compared to avast and eset.
    I hope they fixed this problem; ya I call it a problem :ouch: because with a dial up speed which is what I have mostly, the update takes a long time to be downloaded, and this is the main reason for me to change it to another... Anyway, my full experiment with PC-cillin was with the 2007 version, and I tried 2008 for few weeks or less :cool:

    By the way, why the new versions seem to gain weight every year....500MB for a hard disk space for the internet security pro 2009 !!
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  3. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Trend Micro is one of the few AV's I've never tried or even given a thought. The computer guy in the next town swears by it, and highly recommends it. He runs a small Internet Provider up there as well as doing repairs and building custom PC's. Trend Micro goes on his custom builds - good for a year - unless somebody specifies another antivirus.

    One of these days, I'll have to take a look.
     
  4. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    IMO, Trend Micro is good but not uber. Its pretty decent and they have a good enterprise range which makes it more attractive to ISPs and Offices.

    Best you do a trial and decide :thumb:
     
  5. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Trend Micro's 'real-life' protection has developed strongly the last years. Basically Norton's only true competitor for the average home-market in terms of protection.
     
  6. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    GUI for 2009 is pretty much the same as ther 2008 version. There is a new tab for "My home Network" which shows a map of all the devices on you local network.


    Sorry for the ad on the screenshots. I'm running a trial of winsap. :rolleyes:

    sshot-1.png

    sshot-2.png

    sshot-3.png
     
  7. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Looks like the new suite includes their cloud computing technology.


    Link
     
  8. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    looks pretty sexy. i'll try this after my nis 2009 trial runs out.
     
  9. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Detection aside, TMIS 2009 runs pretty light on MY computer. The install was just a quick a NIS2009. So far I haven't noticed any slow downs. I did try Macafee 2009 for a 5 or 6 hours and Mcafee's GUI and scanner initialization starts a bit slower than NIS2009 or TMIS2009. So far so good...
     
  10. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I love the look of the interface.. wonder how the Detection and Resource usage is on it.
     
  11. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    TIS from 2008 and 2009 both use pattern from "Consumer Pattern File" which is much larger than the "Virus Pattern Files / Cleanup Templates" in size, don't know any difference in the detection.

    Shouldn't the latter be "newer" technology?

    http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/125/lptxj2.jpg
     
  12. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Are you sure about that ?
    I don't see any option to enable/disable Smart Protection Network.
     
  13. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Havent tried it yet - maby later today. The gui looks really nice - I always liked TMIS gui and this one is really cool IMO :argh:
     
  14. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Have their added more options? The 2008 version wasn't very tweakable.
     
  15. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    So Trend"hotfix"Micro release their new product :) .
    They've said that they gonna move most of the product on their servers,but the installer is the same.
    So the same question as vijayind,is "in the cloud" technology present in these release?
     
  16. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    i like trend before but after reviewing it's detection. its only on average and far behind norton, kaspersky, nod32 and onecare
     
  17. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    the 2009 products haven't really had the chance to be tested so how do you know that? or just think they are better
     
  18. clint7

    clint7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Ky. USA
    That's a good question as to how he knows that already. I downloaded TM2009 Pro yesterday and it's working great. My computer runs quite a bit faster than what it did with Kaspersky 7.0.325 and 8.0.357 Scan time seems a little long. I miss the shut down computer option at the end of the scan that Kaspersky has. TM2009 has the shutdown only if there are nothing found. Also one more fault is that you should have the option to not look for cookies when scanning.
     
  19. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    The only problem i had with the 2008 version was that if i had more than 3 days without updates that process would get irritating. the main console notification would say that the product was not updated when in fact i had done it manually or auto .after having trouble for a month or so i quit but i still miss its speed of browsing and the GUI was nice. any idea? i am on dial up
     
  20. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    It sure looks like a very nice product - great GUI. I think I will try a trial version on my other PC. I used to use 2006, and was always happy with that one.
     
  21. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
  22. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    serious problem in the Prevent unauthorized change>changed found function, everytime click on it will cause cpu 100% then error & need reboot.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      52 KB
      Views:
      1,590
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      53.7 KB
      Views:
      1,585
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      45.3 KB
      Views:
      1,589
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      47.6 KB
      Views:
      1,584
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      56.9 KB
      Views:
      1,589
  23. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    seems to working ok over here on Vista Home Pre SP1.

    sshot-5.png
     
  24. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I don't see it also. (XP SP3)

    Are you running any HIPS like DefenseWall, GesWall,etc. also ??

    If you are not running any other security product, use Trend Micro eSupport for help.
    http://esupport.trendmicro.com/support/consumer/consumerhome.do
     
  25. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I should have known better to try an upgrade so early after release. The 2009 PRO version doesn't accept my 2008 PRO serial number!!! The install program says that I am trying to use a TMIS serial number only (not the PRO version s/n). This is even though my invoice shows that I have a valid TMIS PRO s/n to September next year.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.