Trend 2015 arrives tonight. Take a look.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    144
    Thank you Mahayana for the informative reply. I like how you describe the Trend toolbar as only for raising awareness. Although the toolbar can be useful in it's way, I much prefer to use the web browser sandboxed with sandboxie and disable the Trend toolbar. An awareness raising feature seems no match for the protection of Sandboxie. I would have to run my browser outside of Sandboxie to use the toolbar, so although I like the idea of the Trend toolbar, it's not gonna happen.
     
  2. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Maybe related to another extension or security product? I haven't run into this.

    I did uninstall Trend's toolbar as I don't really care to have links highlighted, I just want the protection. Trend's toolbar used to do more, but all of it is integrated into the product now, so as I said it's really an 'awareness' tool. Most of us probably don't care for that.
     
  3. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    363
    got my first FP where do i send it to trend micro?
     
  4. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
  5. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    363
    There was a problem with your submission.
    Errors have been highlighted below.

    not working at all.


    trend micro forum.
    Under Construction / リニューアル準備中

    The Trend Community is currently undergoing some BIG changes in the coming weeks!



    been for months now!
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015
  6. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    363
    trend micro antivirus got an program update. dont know what
     
  7. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    434
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The only thing that i don't like about Trend Micro is the long startup time when you turn the system on. It takes 29 seconds too load Trend Micro 2015.
     
  8. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Easy fix. Go into settings and change to 'Extra Security' on boot. It will fix this, Trend will load almost immediately with no noticeable impact on system.
     
  9. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,105
    I am testing Trend Micro 2015 for now and I have to say that browsing/system speed is amazing, benchmarks dont tell the whole story.
     
  10. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Agreed. System speed on Trend is... Remarkable. We've had people tell us it actually feels like it made a system faster...
     
  11. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    I dont see this option ?
     
  12. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    434
    Location:
    Netherlands
    In the extra settings thete is the option.
     
  13. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,105
    The protection from Trend Micro seems to be different between browsers; Firefox and Internet Explorer have two more extensions (BEP = Browser Exploit Protection), so if you disable the extensions you may not get full protection.
    In Chrome, Trend Micro has only one extension but it has a dedicated process to protect the browser. (Trend Micro Osprey Chrome message host = TmopChromeMsgHost32.exe)

    http://i.imgur.com/MIC0lhE.png


    http://i.imgur.com/2dx7eGM.png
     
  14. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Easy to test. Disable them and go to malicious sites in a VM/Sandbox, and re-enable, and see. I do not believe any extensions are needed for protection any longer but I could be wrong. I don't use Firefox or IE so I never really noticed.
     
  15. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,105
    Unfortunately I had to uninstall Trend Micro for now; I found that after a file detection, TM process services uses 15 ~20 % of my modern quad core cpu for about 10 minutes, it is really annoying.
     
  16. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    that true...that issue is reported since beta stage..with no fix so far....
     
  17. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,105
    Thanks for your reply, it is good to know that it isnt a problem with my machine.

    I really liked the elegant interface, the powerful web filter (with no slowdown) and the general easy to use/set and forget feeling that Trend Micro transmit to the user.

    But in my opinion this bug is serious, because it will burn the battery of mobile computers. In my computer (desktop) even with that constant cpu usage I didnt feel a slowdown, but it is simple unnaceptable in a mobile scenario.

    I will wait and test the 2016 version, hope it will fix these kind of bugs.
     
  18. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Have you evaluated how many threads and cores this is using? It's still quite insignificant to be using 10%, and even less of an issue using 10% of only one core. When a detection is found Trend goes into a form of 'overdrive' mode to determine if the machine is compromised, this is usually short lived as you found out. But 10% is quite insignificant given the general 'rarity' of a detection on most consumer machines. Have you placed the product into Hypersensitive by default, and noticed this behavior doesn't happen? Let's assume average system has 1 detection a week. That's 10% CPU for between 1-10 minutes once a week. That's statistically totally insignificant. However it's possible placing product into hypersensitive by default would not cause this, as I haven't noticed it, but I run everyone in Hypersensitive.

    Worth a try.
     
  19. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Can you substantiate this?
     
  20. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    I and another ppl have reported that particular issue since the first beta stage...sometimes after a threat is detected, or when you open a big file....the TM process services, go's like crazy and use all the CPU power, and sometimes because of that the machine's become unresponsive....all that was reported to trendmicro....but no fix so far...i have contact support about 2 week ago, and no response.... ( and im not talking about 10%...but 35% or even more....)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 16, 2015
  21. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,105
    So it isnt a bug but a feature? Good to know ...

    I noticed that it uses about 15 % of the cpu, but almost no disk usage. I tried to change it to Hypersensitive mode and reboot, but I didnt find any difference.

    Do you have any official info or link about this "overdrive' mode? Sounds to be a very interesting concept.

    Thanks for your insight.
     
  22. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    And sometimes goes like this...for no reason...no threat detected...but is going wild.....
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I will try to dig up white paper on the overdrive mode. Basically Trend gets 'worried' a system may be compromised, and goes into a sort of inspector Clouseau mode where it examines everything happening, actualizes additional technologies, and runs deeper inspections. Once it determines there aren't any serious issues beyond the one detection it 'settles' itself down. I know this has been referenced by Trend Engineers, and other people associated with Trend, the trick is to find out where they referenced it as it has been awhile since I looked at it.

    Also note; this technology helps Trend score better on tests because test environments trigger the paranoid mode. :thumb:
     
  24. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    It depends whether we are talking about Kaspersky or Trend Micro ;)
     
  25. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    if this is a feature...it seems a heavy feature...because the pc become's unresponsive....and every time i contact trendmicro about this, they say is on analysis....no one ever tell this is a "feature"......and like a say, the process goes like crazy for no reason...so is not possible to be a threat cleaning....
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.