Trapmine

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by KaptainBug, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Not so uncommon, there're always more solutions for businesses than consumer, I know some other corporate-only anti-exploit tools. Maybe it's matter of $$$. What uncommon is, one of Wilders member brought corporate product to the forum, I think it's good thing.
     
  2. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,601
    Location:
    USA
    I'm sure they would need beta testers. They would not be able to identify as many bugs with only internal testing. Maybe they have a beta test group somewhere.
     
  3. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  4. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,023
    I'm running the beta now. So far very lite. Are there any tools besides hmpae tool to test this?
     
  5. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    603
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations,

    @ropchain

    Looking forward results posted here. And others individuals, I would love to see how good and/or bad this compare to Hitman Pro Alert and Malwarebtyes?

    Moose's World
     
  6. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I was looking into Trapmine a few days ago. I wonder why they only want to release it to businesses for now.

    Maybe they this buisnesses will pay and home users just want free?
     
  7. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Sorry, can't give you an explanation for that one. Although there are more companies that only develop anti-exploit toolkits for businesses.
    But I suspect that it also has to due with the fact that developing a consumer mitigation product might not be worth covering the costs.

    As a side note: I will not post (extensive) results of the mitigation capability of TrapMine till there is a final version. (HMPA has also been massively improved since the first consumer preview)
     
  8. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    603
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Trying Trapmine out and work very well with HMPA? Looking forward to the results of the mitigation capability! :shifty:
     
  9. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,601
    Location:
    USA
    I already spend no less than 4 hours a day testing, and reporting bugs to other security vendors. On some days I spend much more than 4 hours. If I volunteer my time does anyone know if I will be given a user license, and permitted to use the business version after the beta period is complete?
     
  10. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Quote from one of the e-mails I got:
    "After the beta testing process, we will also provide you 1 year small business license for free! Who knows , maybe we can provide more! Although we will not have a consumer version, we will never forget our beta testers in this long way!"
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,412
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can you both perhaps post some screen-shots?
     
  12. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Currently I am still struggling with a system restore of an encrypted system drive that has gone wrong. This will have to wait till later in the week.
     
  13. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,601
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you for the info!
     
  14. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    I would like to share some very short first impression:
    At first sight Trapmine seems to offer a quite complete package of mitigations combined with more configuration freedom than MBAE and HMPA.
    Furthermore, the GUI seems to be pretty intuitive. (Very modern and easy to understand)

    I will post an update if I have anything else to share.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,412
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Where are the screenies?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2015
  16. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    It's a closed beta, so I am not sure whether I can yet share some things. I will ask the dev.
     
  17. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    137
    Rogue Security Software ;)
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    That is a bad accusation with no supporting proof.
     
  19. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Nope, it's not.
    I am curious to find out what your arguments are to support your claim.
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,412
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Please do so, I hope they won't mind.
     
  21. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,023
    Not even close, try again...
     
  22. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Tried to join the beta team but never heard BACK
     
  23. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Here are some screenshots of the UI of Trapmine. Personally I think that the UI is quite intuitive.

    General interface:
    trapmine1.jpg

    Configuration section:
    trapmine2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2015
  24. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I like the config utility, very intuitive.
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,412
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's indeed good looking, but what's under the "global settings" tab? And is it correct to say that it also has the "application lockdown" feature as found in MBAE and HMPA? Perhaps you can persuade them to release a consumer version.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.