transferring image to another computer

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bnoogie, Aug 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bnoogie

    bnoogie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Hello all,

    I just tried to restore an image from a network share to a "new" computer. After booting using the Acronis boot CD, I choose Acronis TI full version and then choose "Restore Image" and follow the wizard. The restore process completes successfully. However, after I reboot, the screen keeps taking me to the Windows diagnostic screen where I choose Safe Mode, Last known good, or normal start up. I've tried all options but it just keeps rebooting. Every few tries I see a very quick flashing blue screen with the errors on it. However, it goes away too fast to see what is on it.

    Does anyone have an idea what could be the problem?

    Source computer is a Gateway with a 20GB Drive. Target computer is a Dell Dimension 3000 with a 40GB drive.

    Thanks for your help!


    Bnoogz
     
  2. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    All the drivers in the image are related to the source hardware and if the target machine has different hardware then you will need to do a Windows repair from the Windows Installation CD so that Windows can enumerate the hardware and install the correct drivers. It's not a TI problem it's a Windows problem.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  4. bnoogie

    bnoogie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you guys! I'll try the repair from Windows CD. If that doesn't do it, I guess clean install of Windows is the way to go.


    Sincerely,

    Bnoogz!
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bnoogie,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In contrast with the new clean installation of Windows, repair installation keeps almost all your settings and you won't need to reinstall applications and adjust the settings. All the data (including system data) should have been transferred to the new computer properly.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. bnoogie

    bnoogie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Hello All,

    Repairing from the Windows CD worked! I had to reinstall a bunch of drivers but the computer boots successfully and so far have not seen any problems. Thanks for all of your guidance!


    bnoogz
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.