TOR+Privoxy

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by asiana, Jun 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asiana

    asiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Hi. If I run TOR with Privoxy, will my connection run faster?

    How do I configure Privoxy with TOR?
     
  2. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    if you want faster connection use tor vidalia bundle (it comes w/ polipo instead of privoxy) although privoxy would give you better protection (privacy/security) it is not as much as fast as polipo. So install vidalia bundle instead.
     
  3. asiana

    asiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    oh ok, thanks.

    But still I cant make webcam work on Yahoo.
     
  4. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    If socks5 does'nt work ... you can go to internet options then set http proxy as 127.0.0.1:8118 ... then on YM set it to connect using http proxy.
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    If you use a VPN like Xerobank your webcam will run smooth as silk. I don't think Tor was created for that sort of thing. Or downloading either. I know I can't watch a youtube video when I install the Vidalia bundle.....even if I tell NoScript to "allow all of this page". Video is completely blocked.
     
  6. snowdrift

    snowdrift Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Posts:
    394
    If he can get it up and running by himself and the nodes don't drop off without warning.
     
  7. asiana

    asiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Ok thanks. What version of XB do you use?

    I tried 127.0.0.1 port 8118 on WLM, I couldnt connect using TOR.
     
  8. asiana

    asiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Can you pls tell me how to configure XB? I want my Y webcam to work. Pls help!
     
  9. hierophant

    hierophant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Posts:
    854
    If you're running Windows, installing XeroBank is trivial. Given that it uses OpenVPN, all apps will access the internet through it, with no configuration needed. However, please note that I'm referring to the paid service, not the free Tor-based service. Also, XeroBank is currently being reconfigured in preparation for relaunch with new services, so this may not be a good time to subscribe -- especially if you need hand holding.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.