TOR and Google

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by BrysonB, Jul 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrysonB

    BrysonB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I just installed the latest stable version of Vidalia. Using the Torbutton in Firefox3, I am able to use the internet without difficulty. Whenever I try to use Google, I get a page stating that my request looks like a virus and I have to type in a capcha. I am then taken to my requested search. If I click on any link, I am then taken back to the "request looks like a virus" page. I didn't have this problem a couple of months ago. Is this something new with Google? Is there any tor configurations to tweak? o_O :ouch:

    **Just tried several other search engines. Tor worked with Ask and Altavista, but not with Yahoo.
     
  2. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Probably it has something to do with those particular Tor exit nodes. Too much traffic to Google from certain IP address and it will flag it as malicious :)
     
  3. BrysonB

    BrysonB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks lordpake! You were correct. I just tried again and went right to my search results on Google France. I just didn't have enough patience to wait (after all, what's thirty minutes or so?). It's a relief that Google and other search engines are not blocking anonymity products.
     
  4. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    566
    More than half of my google searches are blocked by a wrong page(claiming virus or spyware) recently with tor.
    And Yahoo too by the way.
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,352
    Location:
    Oz
    Most of mine are blocked.....almost always. I don't use Tor often, but when I do, I use Yahoo as a search engine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.