To restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ward, Oct 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi,

    Several progs are corrupted after a software removal of an aplication. Is it possible now to restore the whole C: drive with an image from an earlier date? (because the OS still work and I overwrite it than)

    Thx
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  2. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    No one?
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    1. Is your image a full image including MBR?

    2. How old is your full image?

    3. Are you going to restore the image from within Windows or via the restore CD?

    4. Have you checked that your image is OK, have you mounted the image for example.

    I just have this feeling that restoring an image might not be required at this point. Do you have an original Windows CD/DVD? It might be that you only need to run the Windows installer, and repair your installation.

    Colin
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    You can restore whatever you have an image of, provided the restore softare works on your hardware. Making backups often is one way to ensure that if things get really wonky, yo can restore to the not so distant past.

     
  5. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium

    1. yep
    2. 1 week
    3. from the "securezone" within the os
    4. checked

    I don't have the original win cd, only the HP recovery copy.
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Then you have made the right desicions:
    - use Ti
    - create a full image of partition(s)
    - check Image for valid

    You can restore your image and get back the state of the last week.

    But notice: Files you did not want to lose (Word-Documents, Excel-Documents, Fotos, etc) have to be copy to annother media (CD, etc) when they have change during the last week.

    Then start the restore...
     
  7. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    I taked an other solution, because it's was more easier. Have reinstall the keyborddriver and it's ok now.

    First I tought to make a restore with an image from a week earlier because there are still other little problems, buth for be sure, I go repair and/or reinstall the corrupt applications one for one.

    Thanks to everyone for the interest and the help. :)

    Ward
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    And don't forget to read the manual. All of your questions about ATI were basic things that you could have found by doing a little of your own legwork.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.