Tiranium AntiVirus; Tiranium AntiVirus Cloud Scanner

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by MrBrian, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    lol, you guys.....

    Its legal because they don't charge anything, they check files against a known white list. Unknown files get scanned by Virustotal? I believe or another similar company and then the results are quantified. Known files are already known thus considered clean. I believe the makers scan and input manually to a short blacklist the files that are not detected but are clearly malicious. I believe this is how it works and why it takes longer to scan, and why scanning a second or third time can trigger detections due to cloud updates and its compatibility is due to not scanning on the system and in the cloud due to its Virustotal/other upload system and whitelist/blacklist.

    *edit* I hate the new forum skin.... It did not show me page two before i posted..... thanks wilders for the update...
     
  2. fenson

    fenson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    I can't get this to run.Here's a pic of what it says... 2014-04-18_230328.png
     
  3. fenson

    fenson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Nevermind.I got it to work.I posted the question on their facebook page,& they fixed it fast.It is kind of heavy on memory,but not heavy on system.No slow downs.
    They took Sandboxie out too.
     
  4. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Aww man. Does that mean no more sandboxed behavioral analysis?
     
  5. fenson

    fenson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Ok...when are they going to have Tiranium in Security Center?It doesn't even show in there.
     
  6. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    parts of Tiranium cloud scanner and Av still is detected by MANY AVs (VT) as malwares. DO not know why? I think Tiranium needs to contact these avs and let them know about this.
     
  7. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,312
    Location:
    USA
    Why does ESET block Tiranium?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Maybe they don't like that Tiranium was using Dr.Web Online Scanner to scan files in the past? They use VirusTotal now.
     
  9. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  10. reevs

    reevs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    south europe
    Tiranium Internet Security 2014

    is now one of the best av in domain detections and usage of ram and cpu. Despite to much critics that software is incomplete and very simple.
    very light and without unnecessary components shows effective protection on PC.

    I don't know in future what will be with tiranium , they are small co. with good prosper and talent, but many have hesitate do or not install Tiranium IS free or buy premium with small price..
    It seems today tiranium is very stable av soft. with primary components. On my PC it looks OK.
    I don't know how it possible success with such score of malware detections almost 100% !! i've never seen it before.

    Congratulations for tiranium team.
     
  11. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    And if you want to find out just search around.
     
  12. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,701
    I finally got around to playing with this AV a bit yesterday. Does it no longer have Sandboxie built-in?
     
  13. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    it seems their web site is down. can not access. The browsers try to load it constantly and it never loads. Wanted to check them out.
     
  14. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,701
    The main page seems to display funny, but the product page is a bit better.

    http://tiranium-antivirus.olympe.in/products.html
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,146
    I just tried this again, and wasn't too impressed. I can live with the amateurish design with it being a new product, so this was not too much of an issue for me. However, the real issue was that when I ran a context menu scan on my Downloads folder and it found a few a few threats. When I launched one of the detected files from the command prompt or windows explorer, Tiranium let the file launch with no prompting. I tried again with a nother detect file, only to get the same result. I cancelled the scan upon finding this (it was going to take a very long time to run), and am now uninstalling Tiranium.
     
  16. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,701
    I noticed the program uses very little ram, and barely takes any hard drive space. I suspect it is mostly cloud based. I am not sure they have the network resources to fully support it as needed. I also noticed while some files it found very quickly, others sat on my desktop for a long time before finally being detected.
     
  17. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    I still can not open the page. The firefox opening a page circle keeps turning and nothing. Just empty page.
     
  18. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,146
    If have no trouble opening http://tiranium-antivirus.com
     
  19. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Adguard blocks their website as a malware page. Probably a FP, but I don't like them if they are not licensed to use whatever engines they use.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,146
    I'm certain it is, and that's the why I don't use any kind of web filtering of blocking software as they sometimes block content I want to see.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2014
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    11,217
    Location:
    Here
    The site is still blocked by ESET as it was in June.

    Alert.jpg
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.