TinyWall Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ultim, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,245
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    FWIW, I feel exactly the same as @TerryWood about your comments here.
    Season’s Greetings nevertheless.
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well it's not worth anything to me, that's what I was trying to explain to TerryWood. So you guys don't care about column-size, good for you, but others do care. But yeah, Season’s Greetings nevertheless.

    I have upgraded to the newest version and it does indeed remember columsize and screenposition, awesome stuff. :thumb:
     
  3. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Hungary
    Changing the exe properties to always run as admin (like you do) will still cause the UAC-prompt to kick in. I admit I haven't researched this yet, but my guess is, this might make Windows treat it differently when run as part of the autostart apps. At least, when you close the TW menu and start the TinyWall Controller from the Start Menu with right-click -> "Run as Admin", it works as expected, so it must have something to do with running as such at startup. AFAIK this is not due to TinyWall's behavior.

    You can set up a scheduled task in Windows to start TinyWall as admin at login, and this will work (tried and tested). The only problem with this is that you'll get two instances of TinyWall's GUI running, and if you remove the native autostart entry from the registry so you only get one, TinyWall will eventually add it back as part of its self-repair procedures. In the end, for fully a working and frustration-free solution (to run the GUI as admin at boot) you'll need a bit of support from TinyWall, which is not currently there. Good news it it soon will be and will be the default behavior.
     
  4. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    925
    Hi Rasheed187

    No you did NOT report a possible bug. You didn't listen. You are are a prolific proponent of your views on many sites, BUT you do not accept constructive criticism. Moreover, you do not listen/read what is presented to you by more informed individuals, such as developers.

    Less verbosity, more listening = greater comprehension. You are simply tying up a developers time. Why is this so difficult for you to understand.?

    Terry
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    TerryWood, don't you worry about the developers, they can speak up for themselves. And you are probably talking about the WFC vs TW discussion, and now I finally understand what Ultim means, why it might be a bad idea to combine them, so yes I DO listen. About the columsize, of course it wasn't a true bug, it was more of an annoyance. Also, I'm not active on that many sites, so what are you talking about? If you got something to say to me, PM me and let's stop cluttering this topic. :)
     
  6. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    MI
    Hi and happy new year all,

    I have a quick question about access control and child processes.

    Under the application exceptions tab, when I double click an item, options are presented for how that item communicates with the internet. One of the options is "apply same rules to child processes"

    Let's say I give Google update permission of unrestricted TCP and UDP traffic, and I check the "apply same rules to child processes" box.

    Can that service now spawn a child process that would have these same privileges because that box is checked, where normally it would not be able to communicate at all?

    Not knowing what child processes are created by what services - is there a best practice for the use of this option? Thanks.
     
  7. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Hungary
    That's exactly what this option does. If the process of executable X has no rules defined but Y does, then if Y spawns X and Y has this option enabled, then X will get the same rules as Y. Okay, this might sound complicated, but since you had it right the first time I'm sure you'll understand :D

    As for best practice when to use it: I personally would not generally use it in every exception (which is why this option is disabled by default when you create a new exception in TinyWall). But sometimes there are apps that tend to spawn child processes that need access to the internet, and the children don't have a window/GUI and are even short lived so it is very hard to whitelist them. This option is a godsend in those cases. It is also useful if you cannot figure out which processes the main executable launches, or if it creates temporary executables so it launches a different executable every time (like many online/web installers).
     
  8. caspez

    caspez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    italy
    Hi,
    I'm unable to update TinyWall anymore.
    I tried updating both from the "Manage" panel and manually downloading the installer from the official website.
    In both cases the installation seems to proceed successfully, but at the end I get a popup with the message:
    '''
    There is a problem with this Windows Installer package.
    A program required for this install to complete could not
    be run. Contact your support personnel or package
    vendor.
    '''
    I'm on windows 7 professional 64 bit.
    I tried disabling the antivirus real-time protection, but it still fails.
    I haven't tried uninstalling the old version I'm running 3.0.4, because I'm afraid I wouldn't be able to install the program anymore.
    Thanks.
     
  9. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi caspez,

    TinyWall still support Windows 7, so unless you have a local problem on your computer, there is no reason why you shouldn't be able to install TinyWall again. Actually, that is exactly what you have to do to update. There is a known issue when upgrading from 3.0.4 (or earlier) to newer versions. The workaround is to uninstall the old version first, and then install the newer one. To avoid losing your settings and rules, you can export them from the Manage window before the uninstall. Then you can import your settings again after installing the new version.
     
  10. caspez

    caspez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    italy
    Solved. Thank you. I guess I should have tried that before asking for help, but I was afraid there was something going on that would have prevented me to install it again.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I have noticed a couple of things, perhaps you can change them if it isn't a lot of work. When you open the "Manage" window it won't remember the last active tab. And when you click on Apply when you changed certain settings, the window minimizes, it's a bit unhandy sometimes. Also when you choose "whitelist by window" you can't cancel it, you will have to click on a window. Of course this is all minor stuff.
     
  12. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Hungary
    You mean, "closes", not "minimizes", right? Making the Manage window behave more like the standard OK/Apply buttons in traditional applications is actually quite a popular request, but the request is usually to rename "Apply" to "OK", instead of not closing the window when Apply is clicked.

    There is a cancel actually, albeit somewhat hidden. The general problem with cancelling "Whitelist by window" is that by definition, anything you click when it is activated should be interpreted as choosing a window, instead of cancellation or any other action. But the trick is, if TinyWall's hotkeys are enabled and you press the action's hotkey (Ctrl+Shift+W) while choosing a window, "Whitelist by window" gets cancelled. Yes, this also means there is no way to cancel ATM if the hotkeys are disabled. Maybe I could make clicking on TinyWall's own popup when the action is activated a special exception and interpret it as "cancel", but that popup disappears after a couple of seconds. What do you think?
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  13. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Hungary
    Sorry, I just realized I missed one answer:

    It is remembered when you save settings (Apply) instead of clicking Cancel.

    Should window position and active tab be remembered when after cancelling too?
     
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,793
    Location:
    Mexico
    If I may answer that question too then yes. I'd like to see such behavior.
     
  15. ultim

    ultim Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Hungary
    Anybody may answer. The more the better, so that I can see what the general consensus is. For all current and future questions.
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes correct, I mean close. Sometimes you might change your mind after clicking on apply, so that's why it would be handy if it wouldn't close.

    Yes, but to be honest, normally I just click on the close button.

    I almost never use this function, but the other day I clicked on it by accident and it would have been handy if you could simply click on Escape for example. Now I clicked on the taskbar and explorer.exe got whitelisted. And I don't use the hotkeys function. BTW, what do you think about adding a context menu similar to WFC, which allows you to allow apps to connect out?
     
  17. AlphaUMi

    AlphaUMi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I have an annoying problem with TinyWall, that persists through updates, and is still there now. Basically, the programs that I run from an external hard drive are blocked after every reboot or cold boot, even if they are whitelisted, so I keep re-adding them every time i boot my laptop. I mean apps like Steam and Playnite, RetroArch and Kodi. This happens only with these apps because (I suppose) they reside on two different external usb drives. The programs installed on C: are not affected at all.
    The strange thing in that these apps are saved in the whitelisted tab, but are also shown in the "blocked connections" window, and I need to re-add them at least after every boot.
    How can I solve this issue, please?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.