TIH 10 Verify of Backup Fails

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by whitedavidp, Jul 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedavidp

    whitedavidp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    I have been using TIH 10 for some time now on my wife's laptop to perform scheduled, nightly backups to an external USB disk. Recently her laptop died and I setup a new one for her (same maker - HP - different model). Since I have done this, TIH now sporadicly fails during its verify step. I do not recall this ever failing before in this manner. If it did, it certainly was not frequent as it is now. In the email that is sent, I see the following:

    Details:
    Read error (0x70003)
    Tag = 0x82DB9339B70C3AF9
    Error reading the file. (0x40001)
    function = "ReadFile"
    Tag = 0x7CEB2CDC9FB12014
    Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service (0xFFF0)
    code = 800705AA
    Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8A6

    Again, this does not always happen but it is happening frequently enough for me to be concerned. Anyone have any idea what is going on here? Thanks for your response.
     
  2. mlucek

    mlucek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I too have been getting 100's of these errors when doing a Validate Backup archive on 3 different drives - 2 external drives (USB 2) and when using my internal C: (SATA laptop disk) drive as the backup medium. I can't believe that 3 drives all have errors.

    I backed up my old laptop drive (160G SATA 7200rpm) and restored to the new internal laptop drive (500G SATA 7200rpm) with running Validate Backup first. WinXP SP3, ran the extensive CHKDSK (5 steps) at startup with NO errors.

    I'm using True Image Home 2009 (trial download).

    I NEVER had this problem with True Image Home 9.0

    If I keep clicking the Retry button it eventually completes with no. The message box occasionally says something about weak media.

    Here's one of at least 100 error lines in the log file :
    Any help appreciated.

    Mike
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    whitedavidp,

    First of all, please make sure that you are using the latest build of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home (build #4942). You can find out the build number by selecting "Help" option, "About". If the build number differs from the latest one, please download and install the latest build. You can learn more on how to download the latest build here.

    Also, please install the respective SnapAPI update available here, reboot the computer to complete the changes and see if the issue remains.

    Mike,

    Please install Acronis driver update available here, reboot the computer and see if the issue remains.

    If nothing helps, please see the article Troubleshooting Issues with Corrupt Backups for more information.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  4. whitedavidp

    whitedavidp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Hello and thanks for the response, Oleg. I am using the very latest build of ATI 10. Is there any way to confirm the version of the SnapAPI that is in use? I previously updated this for another issue but I am not sure I did this yet on the new laptop.

    It is funny how this doesn't happen all the time (even using the same disk). I wish I could tell if system resources were REALLY low at the point ATI quits.

    Cheers!
     
  5. whitedavidp

    whitedavidp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Well Oleg,

    I was finally able to install the SnapApi last evening. I checked the installed programs first and did not see any entry for this so I must have had only the those drivers that installed originally. Now that I have installed, I can see an entry for the drivers.

    Last night, after the install, my backup ran and it failed in exactly the same way during the verify phase. At least I didn't have long to wait! So any other suggestions?

    Thanks,

    David
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello David,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    There are two things that you should check at the very beginning:

    1) Please check the disks for errors to make sure that the file system is not corrupted.

    - Go to the Command Prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd)
    - Enter the command: "chkdsk DISK: /r"
    where DISK is the partition letter you need to check. Please note, that checking the C: drive may require you to reboot the machine.

    2) Please make sure that the memory module of your machine is not corrupted as this can be the reason of the issue.

    Please download one of the archives depending on what media type you are going to use:

    diskette
    CD
    USB Flash drive

    You can find more information on how to burn an ISO image to a CD at:

    here and here

    Unpack the archive and create bootable media with the test.

    After that boot your PC from the media and memtest will start automatically. When it is 100% completed, check the screen with the respective output.

    As a temporal solution you can perform the backup operations under Acronis Booting Rescue Media, it uses Linux environment and probably will create non-corrupted backups. If the memtest and checkdisk utility do not reveal any errors, this CD will be required for a further troubleshooting.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.