TIE Full Image to Tape problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pscaffidi, Jun 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pscaffidi

    pscaffidi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Using TIE 9.1.3534

    I want to pull full "images" (not diff or inc) to 4MM tape on a weekly basis, do it on an unattended basis and rotate through 5 tapes.

    When I run the first backup per tape it works just fine. When I try to overwrite the 1st tape, I get a message that say you must clean the tape first. Click "OK" and it proceeds along just fine.

    I have already selected the "overwrite tape option" and that makes no difference.

    I have tried erasing the tape using the mtfcheck.exe utility in W2k server resource kit to no avail.

    Is there a command line option with ATIE that will allow me to schedule a task that will "clean" the tape prior to running the image backup?? What is the work around for this?
     
  2. pscaffidi

    pscaffidi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Let me throw a second note in here in the hopes that someone might have some experience with the problem I raised above? Anyone??
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If you can find a utility that "cleans" the tape so that IT wll backup to it, you could invoke that utility from a batch file run in the pre-backup commands. The trick may be to find a utility that will erase what is stopping TI from writing to the tape.

    Is there a reason why you are choosing to use tape backups instead of using 5 hard drives?
     
  4. pscaffidi

    pscaffidi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Thanks, I have already thought about the utility and the only one I can find is one called MT.exe that did not help. As for the hard drives, the client already has the tape drive and is not inclined to buy removable hard drives or spend any money above and beyond what they already have. Yeah, I know, it's relatively cheap, but so are they.

    Do you know of a specific utility that I have over looked? This is a w2k server box. If it were w2k3 I could try the rsm command line tool, but alas, RSM in w2k does not support erasing tapes.

    Anyone know of a way to invoke the true image tape cleaning process from a command line? This is driving me nuts.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Have you tried this free utility?
    http://www.holistech.co.uk/sw/mt/mt.html
     
  6. pscaffidi

    pscaffidi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Yup, that is the one I mentioned. Didn't do a thing.
     
  7. pscaffidi

    pscaffidi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    I finally found a solution, utility called winmt from source forge

    http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=131091

    Created a batch file that runs before the backup, it rewinds the tape and the performs a short erase. Just tried it 5 times and it works like a charm, in case anyone else runs into this! Here is the simple batch file:


    winmt -f tape0 rew
    winmt -f tape0 srterase

    Thanks for your efforts, I appreciate them!
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That's good news. Good work in finding the right utility. I didn't see that one.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.