*.tib archive - "in use by another app..."

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by deadmanschest, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    Hi all - a simple question.

    I have been playing around with TI7 on an old WinME machine with one HDD. I create and verify images via a boot CD on a logical partition I created for that purpose.

    I image C: (primary) and D: (logical) drives onto logical E: in "C.tib" and "D.tib"

    I do not run Ti thru Windows, but if I wish to start it up in Windows, I use a little batch file to start the three processes that would otherwise run at Startup.

    Question: I just noticed during a virus scan that one of the two image files C.tib was "not scanned" (F-Prot) as "it is use by another application"? Just one image file, not both.

    (I didn't intend to scan, I just had not exempted the E drive from the scan.)

    I started to look at different processes, and even with all processes except Explorer terminated, I get that message in F-Prot.

    Since no Ti processes are running, could the .tib files actually be "in use" or is this some odd windows thing....or some file extension conflict perhaps?.

    Thanks

    dmc
     
  2. noisyjazzman

    noisyjazzman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Try dowloading procexp here. It's just an .exe, no installation required, and will enable you to search for processes that have open handles to the file. Click on the little binocular (search button) and type in the name of the tib file.

    What's the betting it's bloody Explorer?
     
  3. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    hi noisyjazzman; Thanks for the tip, I actually run Procexp 9.25 all the time, but didn't know all the features that it has, I only used it to view running apps etc.

    I will try figure out how to do the file search, but I don't seem to get any response to hitting the handle binoculars, just lose focus in the window...

    Btw, I did dl the latest procexp a couple of days ago, and it caused a spectaclar crash in WinME...I just blamed MS and went back to 9.25...hehe

    I'll report on any success...Thanks

    dmc

    Update - I dl'd procexp 10.21, ran fine this time, I might have had an instance open last time, but no joy on the search function. No dialog appears to type the file name. It may be because I do not have IE installed, I IERadicated years ago, and maybe ProcExp requires it for the search?

    Procexp also tried to phone home to M$, first time I noticed that, and also tried to phone to RIPE Network Co-ordination Centre (80.67.74.241) in the Netherlands (?) ..odd that..

    Any other suggestion on how to search for a file being handled would be appreciated...Thanks

    Cheers

    dmc
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007
  4. noisyjazzman

    noisyjazzman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Interesting what you say about procexp's network contacts. I knew no good would come of Microsoft buying Sysinternals ...

    Anyway, you could try the commandline version, handle (also now owned by MS: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/Handle.mspx). Don't remember the syntax offhand, but I seem to remember from pre-procexp days that it was simple enough.
     
  5. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    Thanks njman - I ran Codestuff Starter, and it has a search within processes for string function. Didn't find any link to CDrive.tib but I will keep lookin....

    I noticed that the phone home came when I opened Help within ProcExp, and I have not done so before, so whether it phoned home prior to M$ is anyone's guess...hehe

    Cheers
    dmc
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If you reboot and then scan with F-Prot before you do anything else, do you get the same message?

    Do you have any memory resident disk utilties (defragmenter, etc.) that might be reading a drive on boot up?
     
  7. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    Good morning John - thanks for the suggestion. I will try safe mode, I think thats the way to start up with minimal processes running. I have a very minimal startup anyway, firewall, AV, Proxo and a couple of utilites, but I do have HDD Health (SMART monitor that runs) so maybe, but I can't see it.

    I again had freeze & crash with ProcExp 10.x so back to reliable 9.25, don't know whats the deal there, but blame MS....hehe..( note to NoisyJazzMan - I tired the MS page for the command line version of Handle and got a no page error, didn't keep hunting thru though...Thanks)

    Q: Is it possible that A Ti was designed with some special attribute in the file association so that (tib - Ti archive file type) no other apps could muck about with the tib archive?

    I guess I could just create a small tib on C: and play with it to see. Problem is that I create the archives thru the boot CD and do all the actions there, so its kinda a pain to go thru those steps to experiment....

    It'll take a while for me to run thru the diagnosis, thanks for the ideas..

    (Edit - I do not run the Acronis Secure Zone (asfaik) just the straight vanilla application using the Wizard to image and save)

    cheers

    dmc
     
  8. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    Hi all - no joy on running Safe Mode. I did a f-prot scan and got the same message "E:\CDRive.tib not scanned, in use by another application..."

    Then if I try to do a specific scan of E:\DDRive.tib (the 2nd file in the folder Images) then I get a straight error message says error - did not scan....

    (BtW - not a good idea to run a dos-based app in Safe Mode - buggers the display and forces a hard rebooot..oh well.)

    The upshot is that I can't seem to use the search functions in either ProcExp or CodeStuff Starter to find the files *.tib in any processes running.

    Nor can I find any process running that lists any E:\ files in its handles. Of course there are a lot of unnamed handles, but thats beyond me...

    All I can conclude is that this is the way it is...Doesn't seem to be any harm, and I don't really worry that if I was to run the boot CD to restore that I would get 'files in use' warning...

    Thanks for the advice, I have learned something anyway...

    Cheers

    dmc
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.