TI9 on usb stick

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mantra, Apr 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    Hi
    i have Ti9 last built

    is there a way to make a recovery disk in a usb key?

    thanks
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    There's a whole thread here devoted to doing just that. A search should find it for you.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mantra,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    It is indeed possible to create Acronis Bootable Rescue Media on an USB flash drive using Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. Please see chapter 9 "Creating bootable media" of the respective User's Guide for instructions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    i did it
    but the pc doesn't boot with the usb key:thumbd:
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does the computer boot other flashdrives okay?

    Does the computer boot this flashdrive if it has something else on it (BartPE, VistaPE, Knoppix, Linux, etc.)?

    Do you get an error message when you try and boot it?
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    it boots! with everthing but not acronis

    i tried to make a boot usb but acronis did not format the key , it wrote only files of ti9 , and it left other old files (my documents) in the key
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That's right. Media Builder does not format the flashdrive. It will also not erase any existing files. I actually like this because I keep other files on my flashdrives.

    What exactly happens when you try and boot it? Any error message? Blank screen? Blinking DOS cursor? What?

    What format is the flashdrive (FAT16, FAT32, etc.)?

    What size is the flashdrive (512MB, 1GB, 2GB, etc.)?
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    thanks for the answer and the help
    my flashdrive is a 2gb
    i can format only fat32 via xp
    and when i try to boot i get a black screen with a blinking dos corsor on the down left corner of the monitor
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What have you previously successfully booted from this flashdrive?

    Have you tried any of the "empty" images from the link in my signature?

    I assume that you have verified that the flashdrive is the booting drive in the computer's BIOS. Sometimes another non-booting internal drive will "sneak" in and cause the "DOS cursor" problem (though it's usually in the top-left corner of the screen).
     
  10. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I thought I read somewhere a while ago that it has to be formatted as FAT, not FAT32.
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Both FAT and FAT32 should work. However, some computers work better with one format than the other.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    thanks Mudcrab

    no , i have not still try your image
    i will do it
    but why don't you make this image with Winimage http://www.winimage.com/ , you can make an iso with installation
    it's very cool , winimage will make an exe(with the image inside)
    you run the winimage exe ,and you can restore the image very quickly
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.