TI9 - "Backup ... completed with errors"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Alan Becker, Oct 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alan Becker

    Alan Becker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I am also experiencing the error where the backup imaging terminates with an error message. I have generated this error with builds 2259, 2277, and 2289 (now current). I have sent the image to both a locally connected USB drive, and a network drive. I have booted TrueImage from bootable rescue CD, and from the F11 boot function. NOTHING has made any difference.

    In all cases I have tested, running the Check Archive on the resulting archive has reported that the archive is clean. In a couple of cases, I have restored the archive to a spare hard drive, apparently successfully.

    To be sure there was not an issue of corruption with this machine, I tried imaging the unit with TI 8.0.903: complete success.

    I am interested if ANYONE has discovered any workaround for this issue, or any other variable that appears to affect it.

    Other background: machine - Winbook notebook w/ Windows XP, partitioning not exotic: (0-Pri/Rescue, 1-PriActive/XPboot, 2-Pri/Data, 3-Extended, 4-Log/Imaging, 5-Log/Acronis SZ). Backup options... type:Entire Disk, Partition selection:all, Mode:new full backup, Password:none, Compression:high, Splitting:Fixed 700B, Additional: all disabled.
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Alan Becker

    [I only ever the BootCD for creating and restoring] I have the same with all builds of Ti9, I think it is some thing to do with Ti trying to run [find] a script of some kind, of which there is none so it give the said Error, that said it [the BootCD] work as it should in all other quarters.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. Balu_268

    Balu_268 Guest

    I've the same problem, but i have no solution for this. I hope ACRONIS will have a new patch fpr fix this problems.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    I need to show these lines to our Development Team (Linux Department) and let you know the result of my contacting our Development Team.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    For the record, i'm also in the same boat as the above posters. BUT, I have posted about this in another member's thread and plan to post a thread of my own in a few days after some testing.
     
  6. Alan Becker

    Alan Becker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Dear Acronis Support,
    Thanks for your interest. Note that I have a case (#380504) open with Acronis Support. I'm sure that you may find some interesting info there. I have offered to do further testing, and forward any relevant trace or logging info.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Alan,

    Some of the problems regarding this issue are already fixed in the 2296+ build which will be released soon. I have forwarded the additional information from your request (#380504) to our development team.

    Thank you for the cooperation.
    --
    Semyonov Vasily
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2005
  8. Ian Angel

    Ian Angel Guest

    I have also the same problem. I backed up my dell inspiron 8600 laptop to an external USB 2.0 drive and at the very end reported backup completed with errors. I checked the image from within Windows xp SP 2 and reported the operation completed successfully. I have an open case (#386390) with support too.
    I guess I am waiting for the new build (?!?)
    Any other news about this ?
     
  9. Alan Becker

    Alan Becker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    More information!!! I was using build 2289 to image a different computer last night. I first did a "Full drive" image (all partitions). At completion, I got the message "...completed with errors". Note that the last partition contained a Secure Zone. The imaging destination was a separate hard drive, and I wanted the complete image for possible cloning. I then made a 2nd image, but this time selected all partitions except the Secure Zone. This time the image completed with the message that it was successful. I verified both images - both reported clean. I then wiped the drive and restored each image - restores were successful and the drive booted and operated successfully each time.

    The apparent difference factor was the selection (or not) of the Acronis Secure Zone for inclusion in the backup. I did not investigate whether ANY extended partition/logical drive would do the same or not, but this seems to be more of a lead on this issue than I have seen posted to date.

    If anyone else can offer any evidence for or against this idea, I'm sure it would be helpful.
     
  10. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I am also having similar problems with errors using T.I. 9.0.2289 trying to image to an external usb hard drive as you can see in my related thread...https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=101821. I guess we are all just waiting patiently for the next build in hopes that it will solve many of the problems which still exist in version 9.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.