TI7: Connect to network as specific user?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ComputerX, Feb 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ComputerX

    ComputerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Howdy,

    Using TI 7.0 (Build 63:cool: boot CD I have been able to connect to network shares and create/restore images perfectly. I have never, btw, had a problem with corrupt images. Everything has worked perfectly.

    I had to enable the Guest user on the server with the shares and now TI seems to be connecting as the Guest user, which does not have access to the share where the images are. I no longer get a prompt for username and password.

    Is there a way to specify what user TI should connect as?

    Dan
     
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    When you connect to a network share using the ATI bootable CD, it should prompt you what username and password you would like to authenticate with. In the dialog that comes up, specify the username that you want to use.
     
  3. ComputerX

    ComputerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    It stopped prompting when I activated the Guest user.

    It looks like it uses the Guest account if it is available.

    Dan
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dan,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Please open any folder on the remote computer (where the images are stored) and choose "Tools" -> "Folder Options" -> "View" tab. Please uncheck the "Use simple file sharing" box and try to perform the restoration once again.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. ComputerX

    ComputerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Ilya,

    Thanks for the reply.

    The remote computer is running W2K Server. No simple file sharing.

    Dan
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dan,

    Could you please download free trial version of Acronis True Image 8.0 from our site http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/, see whether the problem remains and send a letter with the result to support@acronis.com? Since Acronis True Image 7.0 is not supported any longer (it is rather old version) we will try to fix the problem in the latest version (if there any).

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.