TI11-Home and WinXP-SP3 possible issues

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by gaspy, May 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gaspy

    gaspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    I have two identical laptops, HP with AMD Turion 64.
    One of them has WinXP-SP2 and a Seagate 80Gb ATA hard drive.
    The other has a freshly installed WinXP-SP2 with SP3 applied to it, on a new Samsung 160Gb ATA hard drive.

    On the first laptop, TrueImage 11 trial version works fine.
    On the other laptop, if I activate the Startup Manager (or how it's called), at boot I get "MBR Error 2" and then windows boots nornally; I do not see the message "Press F11..."

    I can't understand what could possible be wrong with the second laptop. It's either the drive itself or the fact that it has SP3 on it, although neither case makes too much sense.

    This is kind of a showstopper for me... I like the idea of having a hidden, bootable recovery partition, but if I can't make it work on both laptops, there's no use.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Was the drive in the second laptop previously used? You are getting an MBR error which is where the F11 message is stored. On the second machine, turn off Recovery Manager, remove the Secure Zone.

    Repair the MBR using the XP Repair console with the FIXMBR command. Here's a link with instructions:
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixtheproblem/ht/repairmbr.htm

    Recrerate the Secure Zone and turn on Recovery Manager. If that doesn't work, again turn off the Recovery Manager and remove the Secure Zone. Uninstall TI 11 and then reinstall it.
     
  3. gaspy

    gaspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    The new drive was freshly formatted and partitioned in two partitions.
    Yes, I've tried all the things you suggested with no success. Every time I activate the Recovery Manager, the MBR error pops up.

    Thanks for the thoughts anyway. At this point I'm more intrigued than upset and I will do some more tests. It's just too bad I can't afford the time to wipe the drive again and install just WinXP SP2 and see what happens...
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    gaspy,

    It's an Acronis error and not a WinXP error.
     
  5. Rogman

    Rogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    UK
    I am using TI11 home edition on SP3 successfully! Have taken backups to both internal disk and DVDRW. If that helps!
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello gaspy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please perform the MBR repair as described in the Acronis Help Post.

    If that doesn't solve the problem, please make sure that the laptop has the latest BIOS and drive controller firmware. The "MBR error 2" is sometimes caused by BIOS not being able to read large (relatively) drives completely.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.