TI10 crashed my PC

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by HKPhooey, Apr 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HKPhooey

    HKPhooey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    HELP!!

    After installed TI10 4942 on Vista, my PC locks up at boot stage. Can someone help? Does TI10 works on Vista at all?

    Thanks in advance!!
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Yes V10 is meant to be compatable with Vista.

    Boot up in Safe mode.
    Uninstall TI
    See if that boots.

    If it doesn't, it is probably nothing to do with TI.
    If it does boot OK, repeat the installation.

    If you get the same symptoms, raise a support request with Acronis.

    F.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello HKPhooey,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that as foghorne said Acronis True Image 10.0 Home supports and compatible with Windows Vista.

    Could you please clarify if you have you received any error messages? What exact error messages? When exactly have you received them?

    Please boot you computer from Windows Vista DVD and perform Startup Repair to solve the issue.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  4. HKPhooey

    HKPhooey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I have now successfully installed TI10 4942 but I have another fatal problem after enabled Acronis Startup Recovery Manager.

    At re-boot, I got a message of "Boot sector was modified by a software" and the PC just crashed at boot time. Pls Pls Pls help!!

    TI is an amazing software on XP but not on Vista yet. Pls HELP me to solve it.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello HKPhooey,

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you please use Windows Vista DVD to perform Startup Repair to solve the issue?

    - Put the Windows Vista installation disc in the CD\DVD disc drive, and then (re)start the computer;

    - Press a key when you are prompted;

    - Select language, time, currency, keyboard or input method, and then click Next;

    - Click Repair your computer;

    - Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next;

    - In the System Recovery Options dialog box click Command Prompt;

    - Type the following:

    Bootrec.exe /FixMbr
    Bootrec.exe /FixBoot

    If the issue appears in the future, please clarify what version of Windows Vista you use (Home, Ultimate etc).

    In addition, please create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;

    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;

    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;

    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;

    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.