TI Image File Compatability and Indentification?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ProblemCity, Dec 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ProblemCity

    ProblemCity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    I've purchased all the TI range back to Version 7 (i think). But reading about the Acronis Backward Compatible guarantee to the previous version product only got me wondering! Can the the image files (*.tib) be identified as to what product version created them?

    Reason is I have a set of backups for my PC, but can't remember if it was backed up using TI 9 or 10. I'm now using TI11, which of course may not be happy with TI9 images.

    Thanks....
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I don't know if you can directly check which version created the image. Maybe you could compare file headers.

    If I want to keep track, I just put the build in the comments of the backup. That way I don't have to guess.

    If the backup image was created with a later version of TI 9 (I think from the build before 3,677 forward) then it has the same format as TI 10.

    I would just try and validate the image with TI 11 and see if it reads it okay.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    If it so happens that V11 cannot work with your V9 images worry not because your V9 rescue CD can. You did keep it handy didn't you?

    Xpilot
     
  4. ProblemCity

    ProblemCity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for the replies guys...

    Yes, i still have all my older version rescue media, but was just wondering if there was a way that the TI version could be identified by the created tib file.

    If there isn't an obvious way, perhaps Acronis could include an identification feature in the future.
    Many customers must upgrade to get the latest features with the newest version of TI, but not always remember to note which version their backups were created with.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ProblemCity,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that there is no obvious way to figure which version of Acronis True Image created a backup archive.

    If you want us to change the behavior of Acronis True Image in any way or add some new features to this product, please feel free to post any of your suggestions in Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    This file-version problem is something Wordperfect tackled a few decades ago. Every file it created after version 2 or 3 iirc, was marked with the version/format of the file and every version of Wordpefect since that version can read that info even if it can't handle the rest of the file.

    If Acronis suspects it will have changes in file format (and why wouldn't they), it should consider this simple little way to deal with it it in an improved way. After all, it's not a new idea. It was even around long before Wordperfect started using it.

    Instead, as it is, when you try and use, say, ATI 10 on an ATI 11 backup you get a program hang or a system hang.

    Error handling is the last thing some programmers think of -- but it's the last thing good programmers work on ;-) .
     
  7. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    I’ve recognized this need also. To solve this I’ve started putting the version number in the file name. As an example I’m using ‘CreationDate_10.tib’.
     
  8. jaycup

    jaycup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    I tried without success to access an image done in ATI v11 using ATI v10 but failed every time with the message "Acronis has encountered a problem and must close". finally I gave up. Why should this be?.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI 11 uses a different file format.

    TI 10 can't read or use TI 11 images. Sometimes it crashes the program and sometimes it will display that it's not a valid image file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.