TI doesnt recognize USB HD in recovery mode

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hooly, Feb 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi all

    After posting this thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=948011

    I got my Acronis TI to boot from the recovery disk, but it does NOT recognise my USB Hard Drive... Some searching on here revealed that I am not the only one and, reading between the lines, the issue might be due to the drivers not being present in the recovery version?

    Can anyone shed any light on this?

    Acronis recognises the drive ok under windows, just not when I want to boot from the recovery media... which was the whole reason I bought the product!!

    My drive is a brand new Western Digital 120gb USB.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you booting from the rescue cd using the "full" mode? USB drivers are not in the "safe" mode version although some newer motherboards support them in BIOS.

    Is the USB drive plugged in and turned on when you boot the computer? Some people report having to reboot several times to get it to recognize an external drive. I've had this happen with a network card before.

    If you're using front USB ports, have you tried using the ports in the back?

    Do you have any other USB devices plugged in? Unplug anything that's not necessary and give it a try.

    If all else fails and you're using XP, consider building a BartPE cd. This will boot to Windows and will use the Windows USB drivers.
     
  3. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi thanks for the response.

    I am defintely selecting full mode when I boot up. In addition, I have also tried the route of booting TI from the recovery partition... and I get the same result, it can't detect the USB drive.

    I have tried all three USB ports.

    There are no other USB devices.

    I read a little about BartPE and not only did it seem very complicated (I spent 50 dollars on TI under the illusion that it might actually do what it was advertised to do), but it seemed risky to attempt for a laptop because I don't know if I would have all the drivers I need.

    Thanks again for your help though.

    I am waiting for a response from technical support at acronis, but I'm not very optimistic, which is a pain because the only reason I bought the software was to be able to restore my C drive from a USB drive :(
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    What is the version and build number of TI?
     
  5. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Hi Hooly,

    I am one stage worse than you.

    I have spent entire days trying to get BartPE to recognise USB devices.
    (Everything else in BartPE works.) XPE and Reatogo don't either so stick to the simpler BartPE.

    It is probably not due to BartPE, most likely due to a small mistake in enabling plugins. I have left the plugins as default selected, and also selected what I think as a minimal requirement, all enabled, etc.

    The point is that you might get it to work first try or you might spend entire days and still not get anywhere.
    My PC can be imaged with both HDDs connected, but a laptop relies on USB connectivity.


    The thing that we are both Extremely annoyed about is that you can buy Acronis TI and it have it not work on a "standard" PC and a "standard" laptop.
    Of course it works for some people but you can't buy it assuming it will work for you.

    There are people on this forum attempting to do "special" things but the majority just want to image their hard drive and be able to restore it.

    The very scary point is that if there is another product that works there would be nobody here trying to get TI working. We will have all imaged our drives and be getting on with other things.

    I have tried to be objective and I hope nothing I have said can be misinterpreted. I hope we all don't get into a petty slanging match over who said what.
    I hope this thread eventually helps people to find a solution.
     
  6. alchemist

    alchemist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I can't seem to get this to work either??

    With BartPE, you can't boot up USB and have read your USB drive for data at the same time, doesn't work like that!

    I bought this software under the impression you could boot up the USB recovery mode and restore a data file on the USB pen drive, but how wrong was I.... any help from ANYONE would be appreciated.
     
  7. RalphCal

    RalphCal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    California
    Interesting. I downloaded the trial version of TI for a test run and created the bootable CD after backing up my C: Drive to an external WD USB drive (160gig). Then I rebooted my computer with the CD and was able to view the USB drive and was able to restore specific files from the backup off the USB drive. Was quite straight forward.

    I realize this does not totally answer your question it does show that TI does recognizes USB drives as others have stated also. I don't think you can put the blame on TI.
     
  8. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Well I'd love to be able to lay the blame on user-error because that would mean there is a solution :)

    Unforunately, I think the answer might be that your USB drive is supported within the recovery boot mode (ie the linux kernal has the drivers that recognise your USB) whereas my USB drive is a brand new model and isnt supported yet.

    I am still waiting for a response from Acronis support, I'll post their answer.
     
  9. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Hello all,

    RalphCal you have missed the point,
    You say -
    "Then I rebooted my computer with the CD and was able to view the USB drive ... etc ... it does show that TI does recognizes USB drives as others have stated also. I don't think you can put the blame on TI."

    All that says is that it recognises Some USB devices.

    The problem is that Acronis don't say it recognises Some drives, or it Might recognise a drive, they say you Will be able to image a drive to a USB device.
    The critical situation is that you can only image a laptop to an external USB hard drive.

    I'm not trying to be nasty to Acronis, it's just that some people can't use the product the way Acronis say they can. You can't blame the user for that.
     
  10. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    Because I now have a USB CD-ROM drive, when I use the Acronis Rescue CD or my BartPE CD both CD's are unable to boot the computer if my USB HDD is powered up.

    But in both cases it boots when the USB HDD is shutdown.

    Once the Acronis Rescues CD opens up the Acronis menu, I power up my USB HDD. The Acronis structure tree under Linux may put a different drive letter than Windows for the USB HDD, but, once I type the proper drive letter in the command line, I get a dropdown menu of my archived image files.

    Once the BartPE CD is active and I open up the Acronis menu, I power up the USB drive and it appears moments later in the Acronis structure tree and all is well.

    Hooly, suggest your try the above.
     
  11. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    mfabien many thanks for the input

    i can boot the computer now with the CD, no problem

    there is no power switch on my USB hard drive... I have a choice of plugging it into the USB before I boot the computer or after I boot the computer. I have tried both, and tried plugging and unplugging while Acronis rescue is running... it still doesnt recognise the USB drive

    thanks again tho, grateful for ano more ideas.
     
  12. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hooly,

    Have you included the USB drive in your Bios?
     
  13. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi

    I'm sorry but I don't know what that means? I have a vague idea is that the BIOS is a mini operating system that boots essential hardware, but I don't know how to edit it... If you think that will help I would be very grateful for pointers :)
     
  14. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    What BIOs do you have? You will find this in System Information following which we will tell you how to access it.

    Click: Start>Search> enter "System Information", "Get Information about your Computer", "View General Information about this computer" and note the make of the Bios:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b281/mfabien/systemInfo.jpg

    Once we tell you how to access the Bios, restart the computer with the USB drive powered up and with the appropriate instructions to start the Bios.

    In the Bios, see if the USB HDD is listed by going to the first device listed, press enter, and scroll down until you reach the USB HDD. If that drive is simply for storage, don't do anything to make it boot, simply press ESC to get out without changes.
     
  15. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    hi, thanks again for the help. my bios is 'Acer V2.30'.
     
  16. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    The commands are:

    F1, F2, CTRL+ALT+ESC

    do the above before Windows attempts to start.
     
  17. hooly

    hooly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks again for your help. I got a similar response from Acronis, telling me to make sure that USB Legacy Support was turned off in my BIOS.

    I turned it off and am now able to restore from the USB drive! Woo Hoo!

    Thanks all again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.