TI can't see my CD drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Greyhair, Jun 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greyhair

    Greyhair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Boston
    Hi,

    I have a new Dell Optiples 620S computer. I'm a long-time user of Acronis True Image, and I installed it on the new machine. I updated to the latest build as of today. Then I made a bootable CD-ROM.

    When I boot from the CD-ROM, True Image doesn't see my on-board (not USB) DVD burner, even though I booted into Acronis from it. To avoid confusion, the problem is not in burning DVD's, but just seeing the drive.

    I'd be grateful for some advice. Thanks in advance.

    Dan
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Greyhair,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that Acronis True Image 9.0 Home may recognize the DVD burner as a CD-ROM drive. Please note that this is a normal situation. You still able to use DVD discs to store backups there.

    If this is not the issue you are deal with then please clarify if the DVD burner (CD-ROM drive) appears under "My computer" in the backup location list? Please also try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the problem persists, please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support, attach all the collected report file and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the issue and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  3. Greyhair

    Greyhair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Boston
    Thanks for the reply. ATI does not see my on-board CD-DVD at all. The DVD burner appears in "My Computer" and functions normally. I'll try your suggestions.

    Good luck, Dan


     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Dan,

    Acronis Support meant, after booting from the Acronis rescue CD, does your DVD/CD recorder appear in TI's backup location list under "My Computer". Note that there is a known bug in Build 3633, which requires that you need to double click on the "My Computer" icon in order to reveal the device tree.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2006
  5. Greyhair

    Greyhair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Boston
    Thanks for the suggestions. I reinstalled ATI and all is well.

    Good luck, Dan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.