TI 9.0 wouldn't restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by phm, Aug 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phm

    phm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Used TI 9.0 and successfully did previous "backups" before I encountered problems. I tried to restore several months ago and received "data corrupted" on each selection for a backup. Was using a new external HD and was able to recover all data other than the Acronis backup data. After much frustration, I abandoned the plan and then uninstalled TI 9.0.
    I then did a restore from the manufacturer disks and pressed on.

    Since then, at boot up, I immediately get this message on a black screen (before Win XP even starts) . . .

    "Acronis Loader fatal error: Boot drive partition not found. Press 'enter' to try to load your OS."

    I then press "enter" and system boots up normally and operates with no problems.

    From reading this forum, I'm guessing I was premature in removing Acronis and suspect there exist "fixes" for the problem I was experiencing. Would like to reload TI 9.0 but read something about removing ALL files related to TI before reloading the program.

    Questions;

    1. How do I get rid of this annoying boot-up message?
    2. Can I successfully reload TI 9.0 with this message on the system or does it really need to be removed?
    3. Should I have downloaded some type of upgrade to TI 9.0 that my have solved this problem to begin with?

    Thanks for any and all of your help. (WinXP SP2, Toshiba Satellite Celeron)

    Phil (btw, unless a reply is seen this evening, may not be able to reply for a few days due to work hours.)
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you did a complete restore using the manufacturer's CDs, I'm surprised that any Acronis booting code was left.

    Did you have a Secure Zone? If so, did you have the Startup Recovery Manager activated?

    Do you have a standard XP CD that you can boot to the Recovery Console? If so, boot it and run the following commands at the Recovery Console prompt (<ENTER> means to press the ENTER key):
    Code:
    fixmbr <ENTER>
    fixboot <ENTER>
    That should return your MBR and boot sector code back to the XP standard. More information on the Recovery Console can be found here.

    Since you have restored XP, there shouldn't be a problem reinstalling TI in Windows as it should have been completely removed during the restore.
     
  3. phm

    phm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the prompt reply.

    Although I did three or four backups, each which said the backup was OK, I never did a "restore." This attempt, which failed, was my first. Figured it was the only way to see if TI actually worked, but I was concerned about losing all the data at the time and didn't want to risk it. Obviously not the best choice.

    Thinking about it now, I don't think I ever actually uninstalled TI per the instruction guide. Rather, TI wiped out my drive during the prep for the "restore" attempt, then it started copying data from the external drive, then interrupted the attempt with the "corrupted data" message. When I tried to reboot, etc., nothing worked. Used the original manufacturer CD to rewrite the drive.

    The only XP CD I have is the "Windows XP Upgrade Home Edition Version 2002" , would that work for me?

    Phil
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I think it should work okay.

    This link (Part 4) shows some screenshots of what entering the Recovery Console looks like. You'll need to run the commands listed in Post #2.
     
  5. phm

    phm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry on the delay getting back here . . but work calls.

    Anyway, tried booting up with the WinXp disk I described above, but system won't boot up from it. In fact, I can't boot up from any startup disk.

    That same error "Acronis Loader fatal error: Boot drive Partition Not found . . ." pops up immediately on startup and prompts me to "enter" to "try to load operating system." If I hit "enter" Win XP loads up normally.

    Looked at contents of the upgrade disk and didn't recognize anything that said "recovery" but not sure what I was looking for anyway.

    thanks,
    Phil
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you're having problems booting from any CD, you may need to check the BIOS settings and make sure the CD/DVD drive is set to boot before the hard drive. Some computers also have a Boot Device Menu you can access when the computer starts. This can be by pressing F12, for example, and is usually displayed on the computer's startup screen.
     
  7. phm

    phm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks Mudcrab

    Actually I was just signing on to let you know I'd actually remembered about BIOS after I turned off the computer.

    It now boots up fine from the CD, but . . . in Recovery Window it prompts me for the "Administrator" password. Wasn't sure what this was so I first just hit "enter" without one and that failed, then used the Windows password I'd set for "log on" but that also failed, then tried the first initial last name and that also failed. Then it told me I'd failed three times and hit "enter" to reboot.

    Any idea where I might find the Administrator password? I never remember ever putting in any system password other than my Windows "log on". Purchased the computer at Best Buy about three or four years ago.

    Thanks again,
    Phil
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello phm,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that you can also fix the MBR as explained in this post, near the bottom.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.