TI 9.0 Build 2323 - What Works and What Doesn't

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Menorcaman, Dec 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Have carried out some testing of Build 2323 on my system with the following results:

    Working

    - Create bootable rescue CD.
    - A Secure Zone on the main system drive can now be removed via the Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard when initiated in Windows mode.
    - Create full and incremental images to either internal or external hard drives and subsequently restore back to main system drive.
    - Able to image to preformatted DVDs using InCD packet writing software.
    - Plug/explore either full or incremental images and copy files larger than 4GB therefrom.
    - Restore individual files larger than 4GB from either full or incremental disk/partition archive.
    - Exclude files and folders tickboxes deselected by default (previously they were all selected).
    - Image verification, either as part of the imaging process or after. When verifying prior to a restore the image is now checked before the destination partitions are deleted.

    Not Working

    - Install routine doesn't function correctly. Need to uninstall previous version of TI before updating.
    - Startup Recovery Manager fails to activate via the Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard if initiated from within Windows mode and the Secure Zone is being created on the main system drive. Works o.k. if the SZ is being created on a non-system drive, via the Activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager Wizard or after booting from the rescue CD. This is the same for Build 2302 (and I assume previous builds of TI 9.0) but it works as it should using TI 8.0 Build 937.
    - Unable to restore individual files larger than 4GB from a Files and Folders image, whether initiated from within Windows or from the boot rescue CD.
    - When restoring from the boot rescue CD the Total Progress indicator bar and Time Remaining still show a long way to go just before the operation finishes. This is no big deal but does need to be tidied up.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2005
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Thanks, Menorcaman !:) Now it feels worthwhile for me to do more testing tonight.

    I have backed up my 29.85 GB system drive successfully. Here is a summary of some backup testing:


    1. Backed up C: drive, contents 29.85 GB. Used "Normal" compression, NO verify on the fly. Successfully created 15.7 GB image in 15m 23s - that's 33.1 MB/sec, 278Mbps. - Target was 199 GB partition on same INTERNAL drive all in one file - no splits.
    2. Ran separate verification on image from 1). Successful. Time: 7m 37s - that's 66.9 MB/sec, 561Mbps
    3. Duplicated 1) but with verify on the fly: Successful. Time: 25m 01s - that's 20.4 MB/sec, 171Mbps.
    4. Copied image file from target drive to a 400 GB external USB 2.0 drive. MD5 checksum compared successfully between the two images.
    Hehe... it's like I was AFRAID to try backing up to my USB drive the first go-round. Now I'm feeling a little bit easier about things.

    I just got a brand new 250 GB SATA drive delivered to my doorstep this afternoon to install alongside my existing 250 GB SATA system drive. Guess what I'll be testing this evening !
     
  3. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Thanks, Menorcaman ! I have been waiting for you to give version 9 a clean bill of health before I experiment with it. It has no compelling new features for me and comes with too many uncertainties for me to trust it until it gets your "OK".
     
  4. btimms

    btimms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    1. Backed up C: drive, contents 29.85 GB. Used "Normal" compression, NO verify on the fly. Successfully created 15.7 GB image in 15m 23s - that's 33.1 MB/sec, 278Mbps. - Target was 199 GB partition on same INTERNAL drive all in one file - no splits.
    2. Ran separate verification on image from 1). Successful. Time: 7m 37s - that's 66.9 MB/sec, 561Mbps
    3. Duplicated 1) but with verify on the fly: Successful. Time: 25m 01s - that's 20.4 MB/sec, 171Mbps.
    4. Copied image file from target drive to a 400 GB external USB 2.0 drive. MD5 checksum compared successfully between the two images.
     
  5. btimms

    btimms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    Oops - messed up the quote. My question is regarding "verifying on the fly" and "NOT verifying on the fly". I had understood that verifying was essentially done by CRC/checksum - so is this an option that can be set somewhere?

    Thanks
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi btimms,

    My understanding of crofttk's statement "NO verify on the fly" is that he didn't select the option to automatically check the image immediately after creation.

    Regards
     
  7. btimms

    btimms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks Menorcaman,

    I'm still using Build 2302 - and don't see an option to do an automatic check image - is something that's in 2323 - I can't find the option anywhere in 2302.
     
  8. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Yep, that's indeed what I meant. Thanks again, Menorcaman.

    :'( Oh, BTW, I got home and anxiously ripped open the box delivered by UPS with my new hard drive -- the box certainly was the expected size -- and no hard drive !!!:mad: Inside was a "Y" power adapter I ordered along with the hard drive wrapped in a wad of kraft paper big enough to choke an elephant.

    The package came from NJ and I just got off the phone with the vendor and they tell me the hard drive is coming out of Texas. So, it's a day or 2 behind it's power "source".:'(

    Oh well, I still have testing to do between my one hard drive and my USB drive and back.....
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2005
  9. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    btimms:
    You'll find that by going into the menu bar under "Tools/Options/Default backup options/Additional settings", the first of two items with a check box.

    Being 5 levels deep, I'm not surprised you didn't find it on the first pass. Also, you can access that option "on the fly", i.e., by opting to change the setting as part of the backup wizard dialog (or dialogue for those "proper" English speakers out there;) ).

    This option's been there all along since the first public release of TI 9.
     
  10. btimms

    btimms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    DUH! Thanks crofttk - right in front of my nose.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Menorcaman,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Your collaboration on this matter is very much appreciated.

    The point is that build 2323 of Acronis True Image 9.0 has some minor problem with the installer. Actually, only Acronis Bootable Rescue Media Builder is updated when the program is being installed over the previously installed build. I would therefore recommend you to uninstall any previously installed build prior to installing build 2323 of Acronis True Image 9.0.

    Please also note that our Development Team is aware of this problem and so it will be fixed in the nearest future.

    Please accept our apologies for the current inconvenience.

    I've forwarded this iformation to our Testing and Develpment Teams and will let you know the results of their investigation as soon as I'll receive a reply.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  12. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Thank you Alexey. If you need further information please let me know.

    Best regards
    Tom
     
  13. BlueMonkey

    BlueMonkey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    The reported build number.

    I updated my 2302 to 2323, and it still says that I have 2302.

    Hmmm
     
  14. plover

    plover Guest

    Ummmm..... Didn't you read the many posts here stating that you have to uninstall 2302 before installing 2323 because of installer problems with 2323?

    Acronis themselves stated this right here in this thread. How the heck did you miss it?

    If you did uninstall first, then accept my apologies.
     
  15. billwv

    billwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Thanks Menorcaman for your information and for initiating an Acronis response.

    As a new user of TI 9.0 2302, at this point seems best to wait for new build before update--i.e. skip build 2323.

    Thanks,

    Bill
     
  16. BlueMonkey

    BlueMonkey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Opps sorry Plover. I did miss that. My eyesight isn't that good, and if I had to read ALL forums entries for all the forums I visit through out the day, I'd have no time to use the products the forums are about.

    Righty O then.


    Cheers!
     
  17. beckygb

    beckygb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    Well, I installed TI9 b 2323. I uninstalled TI8 first I have the same problem as I did with the last 2 builds. Imaging and check image, works fine, but file backup doesn’t.

    Because file restore did't work I didnt bother trying an image restore. If file restore wont work there is no point in my using TI9.

    I did a test by backing up My Documents to a usb HDD. The backup went fine, check image worked, but when I tried to restore a file I got an error and it wouldn’t restore the file

    I am using XP Pro SP2, one internal drive on my laptop only one partition, and a usb HDD. No SZ and no restore manager. My usb drive has 2 partitions. E:\ 20gb and F:\ 119gb that is only for backups.

    Since file backup isn’t working I re-installed TI8 b937. Old tryed and true.

    Does anybody have an idea how I can get the file backup to work?
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello beckygb,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In case the problem occurs when Acronis True Image 9.0 is running form under Windows, please collect the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Make a screen shots of your consequent steps taken during the backup restoration process along with the screen shot of the error message you have received;

    - When exactly have you received this error message?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    If the problem occurs when using Acronis True Image 9.0 (build 2323) Bootable Rescue CD then please collect the following information:

    - Create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - What exact error message have you received?

    - When exactly have you received this error message message?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step;

    Please also create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Please keep your external USB hard drive connected while creating Acronis Report and Linux system information.

    Submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  19. Pennhaven

    Pennhaven Guest

    Build 2323 appears to have resolved the issues I experienced with the previous build. With 2302 I had been unable to perform file/folder backups to my network attached storage drive. File and folder backups now work with 2323. Also I have been able to restore individual files from these backups. The largest file I tested was 18MB. I have not performed any testing with a USB drive, so can't offer any confirmation, one way or the other, regarding issues other users are reporting with USB devices.
     
  20. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    This is a "Still Doesn't" for build 2323:

    When using the rescue CD to CLONE a drive to an external usb drive, there are still no progress bars in the two progress windows. However if I do an IMAGE, the bars are present. I reported this condition for build 2302.
     
  21. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Menorcaman and Chutsman,

    Please be aware that all the issues you have reported are currently being investigated and will be fixed as soon as possible.

    Please accept our apologies for your inconveniences.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  22. treat2

    treat2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    26

    Acronis is a great product, BUT ...
    don't make the mistake of thinking that just cause a backup worked that a restore will, or you're gonna end up restoring your entire damn system like I'm in the midst of doing.

    Here's 2 tips...

    If ya wannt backup and restore your system do it ONLY from the stand-alone CD, and NEVER from within Windows.

    (Personally, I would not do it either from hitting F11.)

    2nd, ALWAYS RUN A VERIFY, EVEN AFTER YOU BACKUP FROM A STAND-ALONE CD, or you're eventually gonna pay the piper for not doin it.

    A LAST comment....

    Make 2 BACKUPS of your system. i.e. FULL DISK BACKUPS. One in the Acronis Zone, and one Outside of it. Don't rely on anyone's compression and indexing scheme within the Acronis Zone, in particular, as being a reliable scheme. Best to be safe than sorry, and store the backups on 2 different external devices.

    Other than this disaster I'm recovering from, having done my backup from
    within Windows, I'm satisfied that Acronis can recover a destroyed system, providing I also ran a VERIFY to ensure my backup is readable, and the backup is NEVER ONE from within a BOOTED system.

    No matter what Acronis advertises, I'm not buying into that they can supposedly recover the entire system or do it correctly, unless Windows is shut-down.

    - Regards, - T2
     
  23. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    treat2:
    I'll take into account the fact that you're not around here much and not be insulted. You're preachin' to the choir. My testing is NOWHERE near done and, until it is, unlike you, I don't use TI for back ups AT ALL.

    Other than that, we're in total agreement insofar as what's prudent for you. As for what's prudent for me, thanks, but I've got it under control.;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2005
  24. Scopacetic

    Scopacetic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    83
    My USB mouse still doesn't work when booting from the recovery disk. That issues was supposed to be fixed in this build.
     
  25. CrankedUP

    CrankedUP Guest

    I have to tell you - 2323 bootable cd option does not work!!!!! support is not existent. they sent me a file to run and it corrupted my installation and had to reinstall. downloaded "latest" version of the 2323 build. reinstalled after uninstall original.

    still no go. errors off as soon a cd is installed tray (tray does not automatically operate, despite what tech support (hah!) says). formatted or unformatted blank - does not matter.

    machine is new Dell Inspiron 600m, using Sonic DLA packet writing software (Dell installed). 3 partitions - dell, system, extra space.

    Let me say again - does not work. Errors off on backups with junk about "faulty media". replace the disc with same on and it moves on fine.

    Looking to get a refund from this bum product manufacturer. they do not seem to be able to solve, nor do they seem disposed to do so.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.