TI 8 Build 774 - Error: "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LittleAlf, Oct 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LittleAlf

    LittleAlf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Following situation:

    Main board with ASUS P4PE / Pentium IV/2.53 GHz
    1 x Mitsumi CR-48XATE (CD-Writer)
    1 x Benq DW800A (DVD-Writer)
    Windows XP Prof SP2

    a) TI 8 Build 764:
    Burning on Mitsumi CD-Writer worked without a problem.

    b) Updated to TI 8 Build 771:
    Burning on Mitsumi CD-Writer did NOT work with error message "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW".
    Burning on Benq DVD-Writer did work.

    c) Updated today to TI 8 Build 774:
    Burning on Mitsumi CD-Writer does NOT work with error message "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW".
    Burning on Benq DVD-Writer does NOT work with error message "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW".

    Now I am out of CD- and DVD-Writers. I would like to be able to create a bootable CD.

    Anybody has an idea? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/products/trueimage/).

    Please try to completely uninstall Acronis True Image from your system and perform a clear installation of the latest build you have downloaded.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  3. None yet

    None yet Guest

    Hi there,

    I have same problem with burning a bootable CD.
    Had it with the original installation (build 76something)
    and as well with the latest update (774). Deinstallation and reinstallation of the upgrade doesn't do the trick.

    The system is a Win Me.
    The Device-Manager reports an error with the driver for "Acronis TrueImage Backup Archive Explorer" (Code 10). Maybe it has something to do with it.
    The CD-Burner is a older HP-Model running with a standard driver.

    Would be thankful for solution,

    Uli
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Uli,

    Please contact support@acronis.com on this matter.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  5. Mathom

    Mathom Guest

    I had the same problem. Finally got it working by first creating a "Safe mode" bootable CD, which worked fine. I then tried again with the full version, and it worked.
     
  6. LittleAlf

    LittleAlf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    UPDATE:

    Today I tried again to create a bootable CD - it worked, even with the Mitsumi CD-Writer!

    One little thing for the Moderator: It would be great, if in one of the future builds some more explicit error messages could be implemented. Meaning:

    Instead of "Could not ... " (what is obvious in this case) something like "Burning failed because ...".

    This would enable the plain vanilla user of TI at least to try searching for himself instead of bombarding support with questions.

    One question for the Moderator: Do you have any idea what might cause this problem (sometimes) with burning bootable CD's? (Don't worry - nobody expects that you have a crystal ball and can see everything. Just one hint would be great.)

    LittleAlf
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi LittleAlf

    No doubt Andrew our Moderator will have some ideas but in the meantime, here are a few tips of my own that should increase your chance of a good burn:

    1. Use good quality media. Some of the unbranded bulk purchase stuff can be pretty crap (please pardon the language!).
    2. Ensure the IDE controller your burner's connected to is operating in DMA mode.
    3. Open "My Computer", right click on your CD/DVD burner, select "Properties" and then the "Recording" tab. Ensure the "Enable CD recording on this drive" box is not ticked.
    4. Unload all non-essential applications from your task bar.
    5. If you still get unreliable burns, try reducing the write speed of your burner.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2004
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    First of all, I want to thank Menorcaman for his help and assistance. These are really helpful tips.

    However, it is also recommended to update third party CD writing software if any to the latest version available for free on its respective web site. Some programs can block access to the CD drive and so Acronis True Image won't be able to use it.

    Please also note that you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW in order to create a bootable rescue disc.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  9. Still none

    Still none Guest

    @Mathom:
    Thanks a lot. No clue why, but it worked on my machine as well. Funny little thing.

    @Acronis support(Andrew):
    As you have probably read, Mathom's little trick worked. Seems to be some curious little bug.

    Uli
     
  10. amollerup

    amollerup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    I would really like the ability to create an iso image, as an alternative to burning a CD. This way, one could burn the image anywhere, and with any application.

    Andreas
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Uli,

    This is really strange... I have noted it like a workaround.

    The thing is that this problem is really hard to reproduce... So we cannot fix it even if it does exist.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Dear Andreas,

    We have already included this feature in our Enhancement List and this will be implemented into Acronis products in the future.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  13. LittleAlf

    LittleAlf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Menorcaman and Andrew,

    thanks for your tips. I rechecked the properties of my CD-Writer (Mitsumi) - the automatic CD-writing option of XP was still activated, and I unticked it now.

    I feel much more comfortable now in using and creating bootable TI CD's.

    Best regards,

    LittleAlf
     
  14. bklein

    bklein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    I have build 768; boot from TI CD fails with a bunch of linux stuff on the screen. Tried to create a bootable image CD - saw the same issues you guys did with a disk error window. I seem to get beyond that by putting in the CD to burn just before pressing the "proceed" button. Put it in and wait for a green activity light on your CDROM drive then hit the proceed button. It created it ok and it does boot - but has the same issue the bootable CD TI program disk had. I see suggestions in this forum to get beyond that so I will try this.

    Barry
     
  15. rharris270

    rharris270 Guest

    I have run into problems creating bootable CDs on two systems, one win98SE the other XP SP-1. Both had autorun enabled for the CD drive. In contrast, I have had no trouble win98 (1st edition) or XP SP-1, when autorun was disabled.

    The easy fix for the PCs with autorun enabled, was to NOT insert the CD-R ahead of time. That is, just place the CD-R in the tray and leave it open. Run the create-bootable-media wizard and let it decide when to close the tray.

    Hope this helps a few users.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.