TI 2009 - Multiple full backups - "Backup Locations"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by edfeins, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    How do I create the equivelant of "BACKUP LOCATIONS" in TI2009?

    I can't figure out how to create multiple FULL BACKUPS without one overwriting the next like I did in TI-11.

    I am using the trial version for now to see if I want to upgrade.
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    In ATI 12/2009, Acronis changed things a bit regarding backup file management. Where yoi used to set limits with Backup Locations, you now set, to the extent now possible, when you create a task. That part is a smart move, imo, and it's where the limits belonged all along -- much better than how it was done in ATI 10 and the dreaded ATI11. However, the automated magement applies only to task with incs/diffs and is called Automatic Consolidation.

    If you want to juat run Fulls then automated backup filemanagement is essentially gone with the wind in ATI12 and you're S.O.L. Some of us think this is a giant step backward, notwithstanding the other serious bugs in 12, and have pursued refunds for ATI12 purchases.
     
  3. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    That's a deal breaker for me. Either I will stick with 11 or go back to Ghost (or something else).

    Thing is, every backup program I have ever looked at over the years everyone has major complaints.

    Is there any known good backup software out there that gives you the "warm fuzzy secure" feeling that it will work when you need it?

    I've been backing up flawlessly with TI11 since it came out but never attempted to actually do a restore so I have no idea if my backups will work. I have had no problem opening them and taking files but never tried a full restore.

     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    ATI 10 was (still is) pretty damn good if only the could have it cover as much diff hardware as ATI12 and maybe add encryption.

    ATI 12 is a step backwards from 10 -- ATI12/2009 should have been labeled ATI 9.5.

    ATI11 was fall down a deep, dark pit lined with razor blades and E. coli. ATI11 should have been labeled "not available for public release"


    So you could say things are looking up from last year; Acronis is now making backup software that's only half bad ;-)

    They've got to get rid of the CEO they picked up a few years ago, it appears to me he's running the company into ground quality-wise, apparently for the sake of greater enterprise market share with wider margins.

    It's like Peter Norton Products after Symantec took over and corporatized everything.
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Treat your self to an extra hard drive. You will then be able to remove your existing working hard drive, replace it with the new one and run a restore and boot from it.

    The first time you do this you really will have that warm fuzzy feeling of a completed restore and the bonus of an identical working hard drive sitting on your desk.

    This method works with PCs and laptops, it just requires a cross-head screwdriver and some common sense.

    Xpilot

    PS if TI 11 works for you stick with it.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    That doesn't address what we really want here, which is something as sphisticated as a dos batch file that will provide for automated file managment of Full backups allowing one to keep a set of full backups instead of only one -- it's not a lot to ask. For some of us, the history is important. And buying a drive for each of 30 backups is rather expensive and complicated, and the connecting and disconnecting and reshelving drives takes all the fun out of "automated" file management.
     
  7. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    HUH? I have a raid pair in my computer and I back it up to a 1TB eSata drive. All I want to be able to do is keep a number of full backups. Not sure what you are suggesting. My concern is whether TI-11 or 2009 will sucessfully restore *IF* I need it.


     
  8. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Correct .... but what backup package DOES work? o_O
     
  9. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Some top contenders, imo, each with their own sets of probs, are ATI if you can get version 10), Paragon, and ShadowProtect. You can try each of these for free to see what works for you on your machine.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello edfeins and everyone interested,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that currently in Acronis True Image Home 2009 there is no way to set up a schedule that would automatically recreate the full backup regularly. However, since currently such option is one of the most popular requests, it's being looked into the possibility to implement it into the current design.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. jhwker

    jhwker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    A post I found some time ago has a DOS batch rotate_folders.bat which allows you to keep several full backups. The script keeps the current plus 3 generations dropping the oldest each time it is run.

    I have been using the script with TI 11 to generate full backups. I use the Windows scheduler to run the batch jobs at the times I choose.

    As long as TI 12 aka 2009 allows command line arguments it should work.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=193420&highlight=rotate_folders.bat
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.