TI 2009 Backup failure or not

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TheWill, Oct 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheWill

    TheWill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I ran a file backup and when i came back a while later it had some error, forgot to write down the error code. Click ok through the error and then TI said backup completed. Although the logs dont say it did, but it doesent say it failed either.

    I checked the backup size and its off by about 20gb so it didnt get a full backup. I have Compression disabled and AES 256 set.

    Also I tried to validate the backup but couldnt. Is it not possible to validate encrypted backups?

    Im running windows XP media center 2005 SP3 if that matters.


    Thanks for any help or advice.:)
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Which build of 2009 do you have?

    are you able to mount the image at all?

    check in Windows Event Manager (right click My computer, choose Manage, from form choose Event) see if a TI error is showing there.

    Colin
     
  3. TheWill

    TheWill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    TI 2009 build 9,608

    I did a file backup not an image backup.

    I checked the application events and there weren't any errors but when I tried to check the system log it was corrupted.o_O

    Since I cant diagnose what went wrong and it would take several hours to run the same backup again, I think I will just do a clean install of my OS.

    Small file backups seem to work fine but when its a 250+gb backup with encryption everything needs to go just right. Had a similar problem with ghost when running a large file backup.

    Would be nice if there was a way to resume a failed backup.

    Cant blame acronis for the failed backup yet, because my pc is a bit crapped up with junk.

    Anyway Thanks:)
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  5. TheWill

    TheWill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I think the problem I was having with the file backup was because my external hard drive was overheating, I believe it was connecting and disconnecting. Took the hard drive out of the enclosure and put a fan on it and the backup worked fine.

    Also I reinstalled my OS and upgraded to the latest build. I really like TI 2009 very clean and easy to use.

    Thanks :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.