TI-11 Try and Decide - Hang up ->corruption

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by itobor, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. itobor

    itobor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    New Vista desktop was corrupted by using the Try and Decide function in TI 11 (retail box). I was trying installation of new software in safe zone (Roxio easy Creator 10), but to complete installation needed to reboot, so first hit the Try and Decide "apply" button. Knew from documentation that should not re-boot until "apply" function completed, but computer kept processing for 9 hours and finally I gave up and rebooted - ended up with corruption.

    Resolved by using TI-11 to restore to latest backup so no permanent damage.

    Did I do something wrong with Try and Decide (other than give up after 9 hours)? Anyone else have similar problem?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    How long was the computer running in Try & Decide mode before you applied the changes? Nine hours seems way too long. Was progress being displayed?

    What are your computer specs? (CPU, RAM, Hard Drive Interface, etc.)

    Were you using the latest build of TI 11 (8,053)?
     
  3. itobor

    itobor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    MUD CRAB:

    thanks for quick reply (and please note my other post on VistaPE CD issues)

    Using 8,053 build

    Try and Decide was running for an hour or so - Roxio Easy Media Creator is almost 1 GB (for the basic install file which is all I was attempting) - and then asked for a re-boot. So I hit "apply" because I knew if I re-booted all the "try and decide" efforts would be lost. Roxio EMC-10 is notoriously finicky to install, and it overwhelmed and corrupted my laptop which is still not working properly (hence moving up top a new Vista desktop for video editing work) - and that is why I tried to use Try and decide when installing - though it was a silly move as re-boot was always on the cards. The EMC-10 seemed to be completely ready for install on re-boot when I hit the "apply" button. After I re-booted the elements of EMC-10 did show up in Control Panel list of programs, but the Vista computer was very sluggish, so I used TI-11 and restored to my last archive 9which was fromright before I started messing around with Try and decide.

    Pasted in below, Belarc Advisor information on my computer setup:

    Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 1 (build 6001) Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. X48-DQ6
    Enclosure Type: Desktop
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q9450
    64 kilobyte primary memory cache
    6144 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. X48-DQ6
    Bus Clock: 333 megahertz
    BIOS: Award Software International, Inc. F6 02/29/2008
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    1157.52 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    582.05 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    PIONEER DVR-213NP ATA Device [CD-ROM drive]
    3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

    Generic USB CF Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 3
    Generic USB MS Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 5
    Generic USB SD Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 2
    Generic USB SM Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 4
    SAMSUNG SP2014N USB Device [Hard drive] (200.05 GB) -- drive 6
    WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 ATA Device [Hard drive] (500.11 GB) -- drive 1
    WDC WD5000AAKS-00A7B0 ATA Device [Hard drive] (500.11 GB) -- drive 0 3326 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'A0' has 2048 MB
    Slot 'A1' is Empty
    Slot 'A2' has 2048 MB
    Slot 'A3' is Empty
    Local Drive Volumes


    c: (NTFS on drive 0) 500.10 GB 381.11 GB free
    i: (NTFS on drive 1) 457.38 GB 167.78 GB free
    j: (FAT32 on drive 6) 20.96 GB 13.26 GB free
    k: (NTFS on drive 6) 179.07 GB 19.91 GB free
    Network Drives
    None detected
    Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
    local user accounts last logon
    admin 1/06/2008 2:24:30 PM (admin)
    local system accounts
    Administrator 2/11/2006 10:03:34 PM (admin)
    Guest never

    DISABLED Marks a disabled account; LOCKED OUT Marks a locked account

    DocuCom PDF Driver on DocuCom PDF Port:
    DocuCom PDF Driver on DocuCom PDF Port:
    FX DocuPrint 203A on USB001
    HP Photosmart 330 Series on USB002
    Microsoft XPS Document Writer on XPSPort:
    PageManager PDF Writer on NEWSOFT
    RKS Fax on RKSFAX
    Controllers Display
    Standard floppy disk controller
    IDE Channel [Controller] (4x)
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
    Intel(R) ICH9R/DO/DH 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2920 NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT [Display adapter]
    Samsung SyncMaster [Monitor] (19.1"vis, s/n H9NL325080, March 2006)
    Bus Adapters Multimedia
    GIGABYTE GBB36X Controller
    Microsoft iSCSI Initiator
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2934
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2935
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2936
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2937
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2938
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2939
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 293A
    Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 293C Microsoft LifeCam VX-3000.
    Realtek High Definition Audio
    VideoMate CX2388x AVS Video Capture
    Communications Other Devices
    Agere Systems PCI Soft Modem


    Atheros AR5005GS Wireless Network Adapter
    Dhcp Server: none responded
    Physical Address: 00:19:E0:61:D9:98
    isatap.BigPond
    isatap.{37366060-69D9-405A-8FE3-8A939D7FA265}
    isatap.{4A810AC8-3113-41A9-84E9-A4E5DD11474F}
    Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Dhcp Server: none responded
    Physical Address: 00:1D:7D:07:3E:82
    Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) #2
    primary Auto IP Address: 10.0.0.2 / 24
    Gateway: 10.0.0.138
    Dhcp Server: 10.0.0.138
    Physical Address: 00:1D:7D:07:39:72
    Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Networking Dns Server: 10.0.0.138
    Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
    Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer
    HID-compliant consumer control device
    HID-compliant device
    USB Human Interface Device (2x)
    Microsoft LifeCam VX-3000
    HID Keyboard Device
    HID-compliant mouse
    USB Composite Device (2x)
    USB Mass Storage Device (2x)
    USB Printing Support
    USB Root Hub (8x)
    Generic volume shadow copy
    USB CF Reader
    USB MS Reader
    USB SD Reader
    USB SM Reader
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318

    Try&Decide cannot be used to test a program which needs a re-boot to install fully. So in this case T&D is rather a waste of time... 9 hours plus in your case.

    You have however discovered by accident that TI can in fact be used as the ultimate Try&Decide tool .
    All you need to do is make a full image of your drive, install the trial item normally, check it out and if it is satisfactory you are done. Otherwise you can restore the whole system back to where it was with no harm done.

    Xpilot
     
  5. itobor

    itobor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes - that is now evident to me - my use of Try and Decide was a silly newbie waste of time. The value of the mistaken exercise was in making me realise how important a bootable rescue disk will be in that situation. I was lucky that my vista would boot up and I could use the TI-11 retail disk to do my restore off my archive. See my recent posting as to my trials and tribulations trying to create a bootable rescue disk.

    Thanks for taking the time to reply.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I've found this, restoring a full/disk/partiton image, a faster way to "get back" to a prior state than even System Restore, in some cases.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.