TI 11 - External USB Drives no longer seen on restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by finding_mcflappy, Jul 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. finding_mcflappy

    finding_mcflappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    Been Googling this one to death to no avail.......I'm using TI 11 build 8101.

    For a long time now I've been quite happily storing my images on an external USB hard drive, and restoring them from there when required (no secure zone). I start the restore process from within Windows, the PC reboots, restores the image from the external drive and then reboots with the newly restored image.

    Recently however when I kick off the restore in this way, the Acronis loader appears as usual, but when the form containing the progress bars appears the form remains blank, then disappears, then reboots the PC without any restore having happened. There have been no changes to the system or BIOS recently, it just seems to have started happening out of the blue and has left me puzzled. Have tried a reformat of the drive, unplugging all other USB devices etc

    The external drive is still being picked up by the BIOS as it appears on the boot screen as a USB storage device. The fraction of a second before the progress bar box appears, I'm certain I can see something on the Acronis loader screen that flashes up something "not found", but it's so damn quick I can't be sure.

    If I use the Acronis boot CD it works every time, I can see the drive and make the restore, but I did rather like the convenience of doing it from Windows.

    Any ideas would be gratefully received....

    Thanks,

    Bob
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2008
  2. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Check ATI's log to see what it says.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI aborts like that when it detects something different than it expected or it doesn't find the correct drives. Have you recently installed any program in Windows that may be making any changes to the MBR, boot sectors or partition tables?

    Do you have another partition on an internal drive from which you could try doing the restore? This would pin down if the problem is regarding the internal drive or the USB drive.
     
  4. finding_mcflappy

    finding_mcflappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the responses.

    Log shows nothing odd going on, says the restore started and that a reboot is required.

    Am going though the options of trying other partitions currently. Tried a restore from another usb external drive and got the same the same result, am about to try from another partition on the internal drive.

    Thanks for the pointers.....
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello finding_mcflappy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify if you recreated Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after installing build 8101 of Acronis True Image 11 Home? Does it indicate in Help->About window of Acronis Bootable Rescue Media that it is indeed build 8101?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. finding_mcflappy

    finding_mcflappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the response. I have now resolved this by contacting support directly. For the record I did recreate the boot media using version 8101. I was informed by support that this was an issue to be fixed in a later release. I'm back up and running using the secure zone on a second hard drive so am quite happy.

    Thanks,

    Bob
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Have you added any new USB devices such as a hub, a card reader, scanner, all-in-one, etc. Sometimes Acronis gets confused by a new device when it reboots to the Linux restore environment, and it can cause problems such as yours.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.