TI 11.8053 Installation Failure

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SkyAZ, Nov 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I just purchased TI v11 retail and installed it on my Vista 32 machine without any problem. Afterward, I noticed that my computer screen had developed a flicker about every 30 seconds. I registered my product online and noticed there was an update to v11.8053, so thinking that might solve the little flickering problem, I downloaded it and tried to install it, but got a popup window that said, "Setup cannot copy the file tdrpman_2k.sys. Ensure the location below is correct, or change it and insert 'Acronis TryDecide and Restore Points Installation Disk' in the drive you specify." I chose to Cancel since I didn't know where to find the file it was looking for. Directions said it was fine to install over the previous version, but after reading posts here I thought I'd try uninstalling my previous version and reinstalling the updated version. But I got the same popup window message. I eventually found the tdrpman.sys file located in C:\Windows\System32\drivers, so I tried to install again and point to that location, but it wouldn't accept that. Then I tried to just reinstall the previous version 11 from my retail CD, but got the same thing. So now my computer still has the Secure Zone occupying a hidden partition on my hard drive, but I have no functional software. I've submitted a support ticket #1220391, but haven't heard anything back on it yet. I've searched this forum and any other place on the internet about tdrpman_2k.sys, and have only been able to find out that this file would be the Acronis Try&Decide and Restore Points Volume Filter driver. Following another reboot of my system, the tdrpman_2k.sys file is no longer anywhere on my computer. I have no idea what has happened. Can anyone help me to either get the program working... or get it totally removed from my computer, including the hidden partition on my hard drive?
     
  2. FrenchGuy

    FrenchGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hi SkyAZ,

    Maybe I could try to help you (I have been a programmer for many years, mainly on DOS operating systems), but I am new to Acronis True Image Home 11 and I will wait to see if someone who knows this software and Windows better than I do can help you. If nobody else can help you, I could try to help you but it could be a risky business ;)
     
  3. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Update on my situation:

    I emptied my C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Local\Temp folder and tried to reinstall the TI update, this time getting a popup window saying it couldn't find timntr_2k.sys, although when I browsed for it, timntr_2k.sys was right there in the temp folder. I hit retry several times, but it just wouldn't install. So then I decided to extract the TI installation files to an .msi file. Once again, I emptied my Temp folder and then tried to install from the .msi file - but it couldn't find the tdrpman_2k.sys file, even though it was right in the Temp folder. I also checked to be sure I have administrative rights for installation.

    **ATTN ACRONIS SUPPORT** please take notice. I've reported my problem on ticket #1220391
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    You might need to clear out any Acronis registry entries - the ones listed in CurrentControlSet, often get left behind.

    Colin
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  6. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Acronis Support has told me to "Delete the Secure Zone" and delete the files timntr.sys and tdrpman.sys from C:\Windows\System32\drivers folder. How can you delete the Secure Zone if you already uninstalled True Image 11 Home, took the option to leave the Secure Zone on your hard drive, and now can't get either the original retail version or the latest update to reinstall?
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If you made a rescue CD, then you can manage the SZ from that.

    The alternative - and more risky is to:

    Use a disk editing product such as DD10 or similar and remove the SZ.

    Make sure your XP Cd is to hand - use Windows Disk Management to delete the SZ partition, and then from the XP CD in console mode, remake the MBR.

    This should also make the necessary alterations in the partition table.

    I would still advise checking Windows registry as Windows keeps it's list of known partitions in the hkey\local_machine archive.
     
  8. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks, bodgy... but my OS is WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM. I do not have a Windows Installation CD because my computer is a Hewlett-Packard and they just put an image of the original OS on a partition of the hard drive. That's the reason I purchased True Image -- so I could always have a backup image to restore all my current settings and files.

    What I really need is for Acronis Support to contact me and help me get their product to install correctly on my computer! I noticed on the Acronis Support web site that there's a way to pay for some sort of "priority support", but I really feel that I shouldn't have to pay for a program installation problem like this. All I did was try to install a program update, for heaven's sake!
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Hmm, I don't know much about Vista - just XP,2K and 2003.

    It is still worth trawling through registry searching and deleting any reference to Acronis. Some entries will tell you they are in use and can't be deleted (even if everything is uninstalled and any Acronis services are stopped or not there). This is easy to solve, right click on the folder entry and promote yourself to a senior computer being and then you'll be able to delete the folder.

    Double check that your temp folder is empty, and that the Windows\Common\Files folder doesn't contain the CDrecord or TIHome folder.

    This should make TI and Windows think this is a completely fresh install.

    Colin
     
  10. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Well, bodgy... I don't see a folder in Vista named C:\Windows\Common or anything similar... but still appreciate your ideas. I guess what I need is someone familiar with Vista and Acronis True Image 11. I'm feeling rather hurt and cheated by Acronis right now since I bought the program and have never gotten to use it, and they don't seem to want to help me very much. :oops:
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    How about in C:\Program Files\Common Files?
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    SkyAZ,

    The folders are normally on the C: drive in:
    \Program Files\Acronis and
    \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis

    The sub-folders can be found under those main folders.

    If I understand what you did correctly...
    You have Vista Home Premium on your computer. You installed TI 11 (8,027) and created a Secure Zone. Then you tried to update to build 8,053.

    First you tried to just update to 8,053 and then you uninstalled 8,027 and tried to install 8,053. You got the same error in both cases: Setup cannot copy the file tdrpman_2k.sys...

    Did you use the Try & Decide feature after 8,027 was installed and before you tried to install 8,053?

    I'm assuming that Try & Decide was not active when you tried to install 8,053.

    Was this a fairly clean Vista system (new computer, new install, etc.)?

    When you tried to install TI 11, did you right-click on the installer and select the "Run as administator" option?

    I ask because I'm curious if the problem is repeatable on a clean Vista install or if it has something to do with your particular system.
     
  13. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for responding, MudCrab.... you have my series of events correct, except that I never tried using Try&Decide. I didn't have to right-click on the installer to "Run as Administrator" because I am set up as the Administrator on my computer. The original install went just fine...then I set up the Secure Zone.... then I went to the website and registered my TrueImage and noticed there was the update to 8053. I downloaded it and when I went to install it, it said it couldn't find that tdrpman_2k.sys file. So, I decided to uninstall the 8027, but I took the option not to uninstall the Secure Zone that was already setup. Then when I ran the 8053 installer, it said it couldn't find the tdrpman_2k.sys file either. So, now I have the Secure Zone still taking up space on my hard drive, but can't get the program reinstalled. I've emptied my C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Temp files. My computer is new.. I had just gotten everything loaded onto it the way I wanted and bought True Image so I could image my hard drive in case of a crash. This is the only program I've had any problem with since I got my new computer in mid-October.
     
  14. SkyAZ

    SkyAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    A BIG Thank You to Acronis Support for solving my installation problem. Just in case anyone else experiences what I did, here's how I finally got a successful installation of the update after my initial screw up:

    1) Deleted the Acronis Secure Zone using Windows embedded tool: Disk Management, which can be accessed from Control Panel> Administrative Tools> Computer Management.

    From the Computer Management console, click on Disk Management which is located under the Storage section in the left hand pane.

    2) After that, manually deleted the files timntr.sys and tdrpman.sys files from "C:\Windows\System32\drivers" folder.

    3) Then installed the update.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.