TI 10 home & TI 9

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by plantextract, Feb 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. plantextract

plantextract Registered Member

Hello
    I am sorry if it was discussed before (i did search for it but I'm not good at it).
    Are images (full drive backups) created with TI home 9 compatible with TI 10 (restore/make incremental) and vice versa.

Thank you.

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Yes. Although as a matter of principle I probably wouldn't make an incremental with TI10 based on a TI9 full - but that's just me and in fact, I don't even do incremental images.

TI9 can read TI10 backups as long as the version of TI9 is not too old. Part way through the TI9 builds they changed the TI engine which resulted in a tib file format change. The later builds can read the old files but the old builds can't understand the new file format.

3. plantextract

i have 9 build 3.677 on that machine (i think i'm behind on my updates...). will it work.
    also, can i install TI 10 over TI 9?

4. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Build 3677 has the new engine so it should be fine. No idea about the success installing TI10 over 9 although I think some have reported it worked as it should. I'm still at 9.

5. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

If you're going to get ver 10 you might as well make a fresh set of Backups.

6. plantextract

but that would mean to make a new backup of a 10 month old image file with windows freshly installed and all programs that i need etc. That's not possible without restoring. :)

I'll try installing V10, thanks for your help.

7. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

I meant that you should make a Backup with ver 10 of what is presently on your system.

8. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hi plantextract,