TI 10 - "Cannot Display This Video Mode" after F11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fungsiong, Jul 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fungsiong

    fungsiong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I have been running True Image Home 10 (latest build) on my XP Home PC (SP2). Dell 4550. Nvidia GEForce 4 MX420 graphic card.
    I have updated Acronis Security Zone and enable the Startup Recovery Manager with the latest build.
    When I reboot, press F11 to get into the partition, it gave me the error:

    "Cannot Display This Video Mode"

    pressing enter will bring me into the normal XP boot process.

    Booting from the Recovery CD shows the same error, although it allows me to get into the utility eventually.

    If you can help me here it will be much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    FS
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello fungsiong,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    As a workaround we may suggest you to use a BartPE-based bootable CD with Acronis True Image plug-in. Please refer to this thread to find additional information about creating BartPE-based bootable media with Acronis True Image Plug-In.

    Thank you.
    --
    Michael Fedyulin
     
  3. fungsiong

    fungsiong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I have logged a ticket through the procedure you described.
    Unfortunately I am unable to get the sysinfo.txt for some reasons.
    I have also created the BartPE CD with TrueImage plug-in. The CD works fine, but I'd really like to have the partition booting working since it is a lot faster.

    Thanks,
    FS
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello fungsiong,

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    As I can see, you have been sent a reply with a solution. Could you please clarify, if you received it?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. fungsiong

    fungsiong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    The following workaround proposed:

    - Start the boot process from the Acronis True Image Bootable CD
    - Press F11 key when you get to the selection screen of the program;
    - Remove the "quiet" word from the line;
    - Add "vesa=off" parameter to the kernel command line being shown;
    - Proceed with boot;

    When the command prompt appears, please issue the 'product' or 'exit' command and the graphical interface should be started.

    If the issue resolves please use this workaround under Acronis Startup Recovery Manager environment either.

    Couldn't be used since when I booted from the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager from my Harddisk partition, by pressing F11, I couldn't even get to the selection screen of the program. It gave me the "Cannot Display This Video Mode" error immediately after booting...

    Thanks
    FS
     
  6. fungsiong

    fungsiong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    Occassionally I am able to press F11 and get into the selection screen. I tried your suggestion by pressing F11, remove "quiet" add "vesa=off".
    However it again gave me the above error "Cannot Display This Video Mode".

    Any more ideas appreciated.

    Thanks
    FS
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello fungsiong,

    Please do the following and see if that solves the problem:

    - Please remove "vga vesa" line from the C:/Program Files/Common Files/Acronis/TrueImage/f11.cfg file;
    - Reactivate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager;
    - Try to boot again.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. fungsiong

    fungsiong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi All

    I have closed the ticket with Acronis help desk.
    It turns out that this is to do with the video setting that my Nvidia card tried to set on my LCD that caused the above error.
    I have found a workaround that helps me:

    1) I boot and press F11
    2) When the above error occurs, I turn off the LCD monitor and turn it back on
    3) Now the TI selection screen appears
    4) After selecting full version, the error re-appears
    5) Turning off and on the LCD monitor again works
    6) I can get into the application and perform backup/restore

    Not an ideal set up but good enough for me compared to booting from CD.

    PS: Acronis helpdesk suggested me to remove "vga vesa" from the F11.cfg file but it didn't work either

    Thanks,
    FS
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.