Thunderbird not working

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mollyman, Jun 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mollyman

    mollyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    Hi,l have just downloaded and installed NOD32 trial version and have followed Blackspear's settings but now Thunderbird can't connect to my server.lt says timed out.MS outlook express works ok.any idea's on why it won't connect.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    Check your settings in Thunderbird carefully.
     
  3. mollyman

    mollyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    l haven't changed anything other than deleting my old virus scanner and installing NOD32.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    If Outlook Express works, Thunderbird should work too.
    You don't have a firewall blocking Thunderbird do you?
     
  5. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Maybe you could try the 'Repair now' button in the IMON setup, 'miscancellous' tag (for the Network configuration)
    What was your old AV ?
     
  6. mollyman

    mollyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    l was using Avast free version.
     
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I have NOD32 and avast! HE.

    Sometimes I have connections timeout problems with avast! and not with NOD32, but the new version of avast! seems that already fix this issue...
     
  8. mollyman

    mollyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    Something a bit odd,lv'e been using Kerio personal Firewall for about a year now and Thunderbird has worked well with it.But l tried turning off the firewall and Thunderbird connects now.
    So somehow Kerio has stopped Thunderbird from working since l installed NOD32.Any suggestions or should l use another firewall?
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I don't use Kerio, but see you have permissions to Thunderbird and NOD32 in Kerio?
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  11. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I use Kerio and Thunderbird and have no problems connecting. But if Thunderbird works when you shut down Kerio, you should follow VaMPiRiC_Crows suggestion and make sure that Kerio has permission for TB and Nod32 to work. (Unfortuntely, I have not been able to find a way in TB to increase server timeouts like in OE).
     
  12. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    In the current version of Thunderbird you have to edit the "user.js" in your profile and add this:
    Code:
    // Increase pop3 timeout (default=45):
    user_pref("mail.pop3_response_timeout", 120);
    The new incoming version of Thunderbird, will have an option to change this in the options... ;)
     
  13. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK

    Preferential is an extension that gives you easy access to such options now in Thunderbird and Firefox

    http://extensionroom.mozdev.org/more-info/preferential
     
  14. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Thanks guys :)
     
  15. mollyman

    mollyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    Thanks for the reply guys,l found that Kerio was stopping it from connecting.lt just seemed odd that it would happen just by changing my virus protection program.
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good to see you had a result and thanks for getting back to us, as we all learn this way...

    Cheers :D
     
  17. mollyman

    mollyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    Thanks Blackspear,l also checked my Kerio firewall intrusion alerts and was amazed at the amount of intrusion attempts on my computer e.g.backdoor trojans and keyloggers.l took your advice and purchased Process Guard and l'm trialling NOD32 now.But l was thinking wether l needed a purpose built trojan detector like TDS-3 as well as l do my banking online.Anyway thanks for your advice and help.
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I don't think so with the capabilities of Nod32 and the preventative measures incorporated within Process Guard, together with other security measures I have previously linked to, you should be fine...

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.