thunderbird 3

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by stratoc, Nov 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Because only POP3 traffic is scanned without the plugin.
     
  2. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    I use Google Mail to consolidate all my email and via IMAP in Thunderbird I keep a local copy just in case.

    Now that I've downloaded and upgraded to Thunderbird 3.0, my email is now an attack vector on my PC as Nod32 can no longer access it. Very disappointed :(
     
  3. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I like and use Thunderbird (3). However, until Nod32 gets their act together, Windows Mail does have the Eset plugin and does check outgoing and incoming mail.
     
  4. jballment

    jballment Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    I just got the following response from support@eset.com.au:

    Hi there, this is in progress at the moment (Thunderbird 3.0 ESET Plugin), it should be out shortly; the Development Team have not given a specific date as of yet. POP3 accounts will still be scanned with version 3.0 of Thunderbird installed. ​
     
  5. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    if you open an infected mail in Gmail, i think nod32 will react. In this case, delete immediately the copy in TB3.
     
  6. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    When the plugin is avaiable, how do we acquire it? Will it be an update to Nod32 or will we have to download a whole new applicaton (version of Nod32)?
     
  7. mpaster

    mpaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I submitted a support request to ESET regarding support for Thunderbird 3. Below is the substance of the response I received:


    This issue has been addressed in a newer version of ESET software. It should be available for download sometime next week.

    Sometime middle of next week, please visit our download page http://www.eset.com/download/home and look for the new ESET ver 4.2
     
  8. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Thanks for the info about the new version. I will be looking for it.
     
  9. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
  10. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    like a dream here, no problems found as yet.
    edit: it's a lot lot faster using mse, (as is the whole system to be honest) im aware theres no direct intergration but i really didnt think nod would slow it down this much.
    it's either me or my system, but v4 seems about the only security solution that causes notable slowdown, the very reason i moved to nod 3 years ago..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 23, 2009
  11. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    It is nice to know that Thunderbird 3 is covered in the new 4.2 BETA but I'm not a fan of running BETA software on my computer. Here's hoping that Eset releases an update to 4.0.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Then wait until the beta goes final.
     
  13. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Guess that dashes my hopes of an early fix.
     
  14. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    I downloaded the beta (4.2.22.0) a couple of days ago and installed it. It instantly integrated with Thunderbird 3.0. Everything seems to be working fine. This is on an older Dell system runnning XP Home SP3.
     
  15. mpaster

    mpaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I certainly would NOT hold myself out as an expert, but last week I downloaded and installed the beta on two different computers (both running XP Pro, SP3,one an older laptop and the other a more robust desktop) with Thunderbird 3 and I haven't seen any sign of problems yet. Your mileage may very, but for the moment, I'm happy with the beta and TB3.
     
  16. kiwigee

    kiwigee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Are all you people using the Eset Smart product or has anyone tried the 4.2 beta for the Antivirus product.
    I note that the Eset documentation mentions the TB3 compatibility fix is for the Smart product only. Just asking because no-one has mentioned this yet.
    cheers
    G.
     
  17. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    TB3 compatibility is for both EAV and ESS of course :). Its only more useful for ESS since it has the antispam module.
     
  18. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    somethings new about this issue (TB3 integration with nod32) o_O?
     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    It's been mentioned in the beta 4.2 changelog and also in some threads here that support for TB3 has been added to v. 4.2
     
  20. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    hoping a fix now for v4.0.....:( :doubt: :p
     
  21. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    no, tb3 will be supported since v4.2 (it won't be added to v4.0)
     
  22. aido

    aido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    The Eset Plugin doesnt Work with the new release of TB 3.1. Have you any solution?

    Thanks,
    aido
     
  23. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    118,501
    Location:
    Texas
  24. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    ronjour

    So does that mean that those of us who were foolish enough to upgrade TB 3.1 have to use another antivirus product?
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.