Threatfire vs Comodo Leak Test

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rivalen, Nov 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    TF will all boxes ticked and set to highest sensitivity. I got one question from Comodo test and TF alerted and I told TF to quarantine - and havent seen anything since then.

    What did I do wrong or did TF do something right?

    Defensewall was disabled and Antivir Guard stopped during this "test".

    Could anyone try this?

    Best Regards
     
  2. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    In TF, if you go to Settings-->Quarantine, is there anything there? If so, it moved the files created from the leaktest in there.
     
  3. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Yes Fuzzfas there where 2 files there, but it stopped the whole test.

    Ran test as untrusted under DW got 260. I guess when/if DW comes with outbound protection this will be better. If those 8 is something calling home the sandbox I am not to worried, but I didnt bother to read which ones DW didnt pass.

    Ran with DW and TF able - after 9 protected a row TF alerted - killed and quarantined - and the whole test stopped again.

    I guess Threatfire is a beauty after all - or?

    Best Regards
     
  4. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    In Threatfire you have 2 choices; Allow or Quarantine. It would have been nice if TF had a deny so you could see if it detects the rest of the tests. You basically cancelled the test.

    Ice
     
  5. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Since it was clt.exe (or what its name is) launching all the leak test, it did wisely... It quarantined the "root of the evil".

    You can try launching individual leak test files if you like.

    http://www.firewallleaktester.com/
     
  6. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    I ran PC Audit 1 + 2 and TF stopped them both. Since the description of PC Audit 2 was something like this is a heavy test that many companies security cant stop I guess that TF with all boxes ticked and sensitivity at highest is a pretty mean machine.

    But this is Gibson not Comodo - dont know if there is a way to test Comdo one by one. I tested Comodo cpil or soemthing like that and stopped it.

    I dont think Ill bother with more tests - Im beginning to feel pretty confident that my security setup is the best one available ;-)

    Best Regards
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2008
  7. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    The biggest mistakes people did were a result of a wrong confidence as a rule :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.