Threatfire and NIS 2009

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Halo326, Sep 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    Does anyone know if its ok to run Threatfire with NIS 2009 or is it overkill? There isnt any reall HIPS in NIS cause it failed the System Shutdown Simulator HIPS portion. Any comments?
     
  2. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Looks like you could be adding 2 AV's if you include TF because it's a blacklist hunter like AV's are, and i agree that might be a formula for conflict at some point with those two together.

    EASTER
     
  4. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    What about an older version of Threatfire.
     
  5. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    its overkill.

    me im only using free avg 8.0 plus norton antibot free also.
     
  6. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    Ok but NiS doesn't really have HIPS so thats why I was wondering.
     
  7. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  8. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    What about Mamutu ?
     
  9. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    It again the same thing.
    Norton 2009 = Norton AV + Anti-bot

    Now if you add Mamutu or Threatfire, its just redundancy. Since basically the same task is already done by Norton.
    Plus knowing Norton, you never know how it may take overlapping & interfering apps.
     
  10. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    Ok NIS alone it is. Failing that System Shutdown HIPS test had me wondering thats all.
     
  11. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Norton is packed towards the novice users, so maybe they didn't add rules for System Shutdown.
    Ask the developer via Norton Forum, at:
    http://norton.lithium.com/norton/board?board.id=nis_feedback

    Maybe they will add it after your comment.
     
  12. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    Ok so nobody think I need Threatfire with NIS? NIS alone should be enough?
     
  13. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    I believe so.
     
  14. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  15. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    Ok but how heavy is Mamutu. Whats wrong with TF?
     
  16. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    threatfire is fine. actually its rating is very high
     
  17. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    What about Winpatrol.
     
  18. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    IMHO it's not so effective these days. But I think you really don't need behavioural blockers if you use NIS09. You could add other types of protection, like a sandbox or on-demand scanners.
     
  19. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    I kinda figured that. I was using Sandboxie with my older set up but don't see much need for it. I have never been infected in over 6 years and I surf everything. I thought TF was rwally good to have. Oh well.
     
  20. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    I am trying TF again but it seems like NIS and TF dont get along. I am getting ccSvcHst.exe crashes.
     
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Have you tried other versions of TF to determine if those same results repeats itself on your system?

    EASTER
     
  22. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    No just the latest Easter. I like having the latest and greatest but from everybody says I dont need TF.
     
  23. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I see.

    I understand your interest in keeping up with the most latest releases, but if you tried earlier versions just before this newest which is presenting issues for you, it might just confirm for you that the newest is either non-compatible (unfortunately), or something else is at fault there.

    Regards EASTER
     
  24. Halo326

    Halo326 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    106
    So Easter should I use Tf with NIS 2009? I guess not.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.