This must be a scan record

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Aug 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This must be a scan record 18 seconds for a regular deep scan on Win 7 x64 :thumb:

    TH

    Capture22-08-2010-11.37.09 AM.jpg
     
  2. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    232
    Considering the very low number of files it's hardly a surprising time is it? ;)

    I've seen times around 30-40 seconds, but with a lot more files.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have never seen that low on a standard Deep scan usually 1 to 2 minutes! :D

    TH
     
  4. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    232
    Okay, 1 minute is usually my time for triple the amount of files. :)
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well here is the one on my Win7 x86 still fast IMO but not 18 seconds!

    TH

    Capture22-08-2010-3.06.16 PM.jpg
     
  6. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    A clean computer with few files are scanned incredibly fast with Prevx. I wonder if Hitman uses the same engine as Prevx when scanning. I strongly suspect that.
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vista 64 bit
     

    Attached Files:

  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    HMP does not use our scan engine, but it does use our determinations from our database :)
     
  9. volvic

    volvic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    What does that mean?

    I scanned a friend's machine with Prevx (free). It found two pieces of malware.

    Hitman Pro (trial) found only 1 malware and removed it.

    That must be why?
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    HMP doesn't update there severs as fast as Prevx does so that is why you will see different detections in the two!

    TH
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    And Prevx uses a very different scan engine than HMP - although they do use some of our detections on the back end database, the product you receive is completely different :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.