thinkvantage software and nod32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ashishtx, Jan 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    i have a question. Does nod32 have any compatibilty issue with thinkvantage software? i have thinkpad z60m loaded with symantec client security which i removed it by add/remove program and then i installed nod32 which froze my computer. But when i disabled automatic starting of amon it worked properly and when i enable automatic starting of amon it again causes the problem. any idea? thank you.
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Running a T42 over here plus NOD32 - no problems what so ever ;). Seems like some remnants from your former AV is causing troubles here.

    regards,

    paul
     
  3. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    do you know a way by which i can remove those remanants because i have throughly removed all the remanants of symantec client security. I installed etrust r7 antivirus and it works fine.And i then i removed etrust and installed nod32 but as soon as i install nod32 with automatic updates and automatic start of amon, my computer freezes. my computer works fine when i disable automatic starting of amon. any ideao_O
     
  4. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Works fine on ours as well - T-22/23/40/41/42, M40/41/42/50/51/52. Don't think it's a NOD problem. Ashishtx - Is anything showing up in the NOD/AMON logs? What about the System or Application logs?

    Jack
     
  5. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    i don't see any information in the logs of nod32 and amon. is thinkvantage software causing the problem?
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I run a Stinkpad myself, quite a few clients on newer T4x series..and just setup a few of the new Z series at a law firm client of mine...not one hiccup.
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I know you are talking about AMON being the culprit, but can you please try repairing Winsock

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  8. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    how winsock is going to help me? What is causing the problem?
     
  9. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    i found the way out of the situation myself. The culprit was the encrypted secure file by utimaco software which is included in the client security solution. EVry time when amon used to start scanning the files, it got stuck while scanning the secure file which is encrypted. To solve the problem i added that secure folder in to exclusion menu of amon and it is working fine. The other thing which i adjusted was selecting the option of portable computer for internet connection instead of fixed line/lan. I am not sure that prior settings froze my computer but the above settings worked for me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.