Think your browser history is private? Think again.

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by lotuseclat79, Jul 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,097
  2. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    well seen how there is no browsing history which exists because History has been disabled in my FF settings, why would it not be private?
     
  3. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    Just in case you don't already know, Sandboxie will not prevent this from happening.
     
  4. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,097
    Disabling Javascript or browsing history will probably not protect a browser from browser cache exploits. For Firefox 2 there once was SafeCache and SafeHistory add-ons, but even though they can be hacked (modified) to work in Firefox 3, they screw up the display of the webpage.

    -- Tom
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Blocking javascript will not prevent it, see good summary
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r22552875-

    but this will as mentioned earlier
    "..
    Disabling layout.css.visited_links_enabled exists only in FF 3.5 and also prevents seeing any history feedback inside visited pages.
    .."
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Hmm, it seems to work on Opera 10, any way to block it in that?
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I just tested it in Fx 3.5 and all it shows is a black box... I made sure to disable noscript too o_O

    edit: Maybe because I have InPrivate enabled by default on launch?

    edit2: Nope, still doesn't work even with InPrivate off in 3.5 just a big black box, I don't think that tweak is needed.
     
  8. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    Using Deep Freeze or Returnil (DF on desktop, Returnil on laptop), that is something I give no concern to. More people concerned with this kind of thing should simply download the free edition of Returnil, play with it and see how everything is gone on reboot, back to where you were before with your perfect state. Whole drive encryption can put that concern to rest as well.
     
  9. Dude111

    Dude111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    212
    I went to the page above and NOTHING HAPPEND with scripts disabled...

    When i enabled scripts,it took ALONG TIME TO COMPLETE and when it was done,i saw nothing!! (Then it took me to a page to order a stupid shirt (Nothing was listed on that either))

    I did the test on the DSL site listed above a few weeks ago and nothing..... (Without scripts)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.