They sold me 8.1 but was only 8.0 ; ASUS= Bull!!

Discussion in 'hardware' started by cortez, May 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    "Best Buy" (the store) was deceptive and said I was getting an 8.1 machine laptop but it was only 8.0. I treated the machine as an 8.1 and all downloads from Microsoft updates refused to down load 8.1 saying that I was in fact only in 8.o!!

    I thought I was in 8.1 and set up the machine as if it was 8.1.

    Much turmoil ensured and I returned it and they wanted to charge me extra to install 8.1 (I attempted to down load 8.1 but each time there was a different down load problems from " not able to connect to update", to after 4 to 5 hours of downloading, and the update said "unable to complete update").

    This was an ASUS laptop model X55iMA which also said that I was "connected but was not charging". This indicated to me that It was was a flawed machine ( I really do not know as I am n XP person).

    I have a 2 year extended warranted and they treated me with scorn and duplicitness on my part.

    This may have been an honest mistake on their part but their reluctance to accept my empirical data tells me that they do not want to be an honest broker to remedy the problem.

    I called their Geek Squad and they said to simply bring it in for a check up and free update to 8.1, but once I went into the store they wanted the name of the geek squad person and his I.D. number!

    They said that this was a necessary protocol to insure proper procedure and anti "lost control" measures. This means anti-con artist measures.

    I hope I am wrong as they always were always in the past honorable.
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    This is indeed sounds like a fraud. Have you tried to upgrade via the ISO trick?
     
  3. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    No, as the store has the machine and said they will up-grade it overnight. If they fail I will ask for a refund.
     
  4. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,146
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    why blaming ASUS ?
     
  5. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    The Box it came in stated it was Windows 8.1. And the store said it should have been an 8.1.
     
  6. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Why not call Asus customer service and request the proper CD's?
     
  7. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    Screenshot (5).png

    As the box clearly states that it is an 8.1 machine the manager agreed with me that there should be no charge. I will try to get ASUS to cough up a disk with the OS or an image of their system.

    As I am completely in the dark as to how Windows 8.1 operates I will be doing a lot of reading of their Adobe based operators manual. It seems that there are extra partitions which may be restore images of some sort. I do not know how to get the capture screen function to work yet so I cannot show you the hard drive and it's divisions. I think I got the image.

    EDIT: I now see that it is a restore image on one of the partitions. At least I have this.

    The image came up before the text, sorry. I hope to learn uploading on 8.1 better.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2014
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    cortez,

    That certainly looks like a Win8.1 system. Disk Management has two small Recovery partitions (as does Win8.1) and you have a Start button. Does Window report itself as Win8? Where do you see Win8? Right click the desktop computer icon, click Properties. Look at Windows edition.

    On the desktop, is the computer icon called "Computer" or "This PC"?
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2014
  9. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Sorry for your problem. Microsoft is so screwed up with Windows 8, 8.1, and Update 1 that no one seems to know what is going on. They have all kinds of problems, so it's no wonder BestBuy, Asus or anyone else involved with selling pc's with Windows has difficulty knowing what they are selling. Microsoft bear the vast majority of the responsibility for this - they rushed Windows 8, 8.1 and Update 1 too fast without thinking of the users at all. Their wonderful Windows Store is having so many problems that it's laughable. Hang in there, eventually you will get it figured out. It took me a week and many Microsoft calls to get Update 1 installed on one of my pc's. (The others went fine)
     
  10. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes the "system" item (when left clicking the windows icon) does state it is a Windows 8.1.

    Now the real work learning the quirks of Windows 8.1 begins for me (I still have 2 XP machines and still use them with SBIE and so far no real problems).

    I must admit I am a dinosaur in regards to 8.1.
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    If the system states 8.1 and you have the task bar what is the issue here?
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    cortez,

    We are confused because we don't know when your Disk Management screenshot was taken. Was it after the computer was unpacked or after you took it back to the shop?
     
  13. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    After the shop added the 8.1

    Seems to working OK now.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.