The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    I find this product to be a great compliment to Sandboxie for reasons mentioned above. And since my setup is very static (I've downloaded everything I could ever want by now), using shadow mode is plenty practical for me. About the only time files are ever added/modified on my box are when I update everything once a month.

    Wish I had found this years ago, but better late than never.
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    I wonder if SD is as strong as it used to be? After all it's not supported for sometime now. And it's kind of old. Any malware could bypass it easily?:doubt:
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  3. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Amit,

    Thus far, I haven't seen any evidence proving SD can be bypassed. ;)

    TS
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Unless you have any [some] proof of bypass and name the type, I do no see why or how you can say that? :eek:

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    got it man! thank you. :)
     
  6. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Indeed, Shadow Defender has a good concept against malware, so it would be difficult to be bypassed, even though undeveloped.
     
  7. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    SD is bulletproof.Read and learn before making statements like this please.
     
  8. curin1989

    curin1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Shadow Defender 1.0.0.311 32bit have problem with USB on WIN 8. When I plugged USBs, my computer couldn't recognize them. After uninstalling SD, they can work normal again! @@
     
  9. curin1989

    curin1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    The same with me! WIN 8 32 bit
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah thanks a lot. I've added it to my setup. :)
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I am not claiming the SD can be bypassed or something like that. I was simply trying to learn from you guys if it could be since it was not supported for this long. But I'm assured from posts here. :D:thumb:
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm learning. I had just stated my confusions and worries. ;)
     
  13. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    We are all learning. :)

    I had the same fears as you when I first used SD. It has never let me down. It even works on SSDs if TRIM is turned off.
     
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi Amit
    Misunderstanding on my part. :)

    SD is like a few programs that have no development [or little that is know of] any more, but are still among the best of their type. :eek:

    i.e. [IMO] L'n'S.:thumb:

    Take Care
    TheQuest (8
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm now using SD. Nice to hear you had the same confusions and worries. I'm more confident with SD after reading your post. :D
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah thanks for the assurance. I am loving SD. I definitely feel safe.

    So is L'n'S not supported?:doubt:
     
  17. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi Amit
    Glad to be of some help to strengthening your feeling of being safe. [But safe you are in Shadow Mode]

    To save any more misunderstanding ;), That is not what I am saying [wrote].
    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Okay got it now.:thumb:
     
  19. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    SD 1.2.0.346 is now available for download! :eek:

    Reported changes:
    Added. Use RAM as write cache.
    Fixed. USB related issues.

    TS
     
  20. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    Nice man that's interesting...I would really like to know wether it can be used on a Windows 8 machine coupled with SSD...

    Ram write Cache Looks nice.
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Great.:thumb:
     
  22. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    already did a quick test in vmware. slightly changed Interface. Option to write into Memory works according to the Interface. I set Memory write Cache to 2GB and it wrote everything into Memory.

    I guess I will do another test with Windows 8 Enterprise Trial in vmware to see how it does.
     
  23. Crane_Mann

    Crane_Mann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    United States
    Does that (SD) work in vmware? What about Oracle's VirtualBox? How can testing SD under vmware really tell you anything? I'm really curious what you find out. Keep us posted.
     
  24. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    USA
    TS,

    Thank you for spotting this! I have two questions (for anyone who may know)...

    1. What are the advantages of SD using RAM as write cache?
    2. Does this new release support SSDs?

    Wendi
     
  25. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Thanks Shadow
    I've downloaded it and tried it, seems pretty much like the Shadow Defender we all know with the addition of the ram write cache and a slightly different look.
    I'd be interested to know what the ram write cache does and how it is used.
    Well done Tony.

    best wishes

    sdmod (Patrick)
    ps Just written to Tony to congratulate and ask about the new addition. I've not had a reply to my last ten emails and think either my mail is being blocked or I'm "Persona non grata" for some reason unknown to me. :)

     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.