The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    My question has also to do with 32bit vs. 64 bit:

    I switched (on a trial basis) from Windows 10 32 bit to Windows 10 64 bit and I saw that Shadow Defender (version 1.4.0.680) does not start any longer. What should I do? Simply uninstall and reinstall SD?
     
  2. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,278
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I've just checked the shadow defender folder in my computer (64 bit) is in the 64 bit program files, therefore it is likely that by re-installing SD it will choose a 64 bit option. I would also try the latest version 1.5.0.726 as you are re-installing...
     
  3. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    Many thanks, Osaban. I will do this the next time when I am in the 64-bit OS.
     
  4. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    692
    Location:
    Lunar module
    The downloaded distribution kit of the program contains separate files for x64 and x86 systems; during installation, the program is automatically installed with the bitness corresponding to the bitness of the operating system.
    Uninstall the program and reinstall.
     
  5. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    Thank you, Aldist. I will do this.

    Ah, I see. So that's the reason why I missed separate installers for x64 and x86 on Shadow Defender's homepage.
     
  6. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    692
    Location:
    Lunar module
    If you unpack the downloaded file Setup.exe 3,628kB into 7-Zip, there will be Setup_x64.exe and Setup_x86.exe inside.
     
  7. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    Thanks. I assume this was the procedure already with older versions and I simply ignored, deleted and forgot the existence of the x64.exe. :D
     
  8. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Is SD tied to the pc that you install it on or can it be moved about without issue ?

    Regards Eck:)
     
  9. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,068
    Shadow Defender licence is not 'tied', per se, to the PC that you use by machine ID (Primary MAC Address), to the extent that, if you were changing PCs you can use your single lifetime licence on the new PC and it will work and be regarded as legitimate.
    What the single licence is not for is using one licence for multiple PCs (for example in a workplace or computer lab). It's a generous licence that allows for ordinary movement from one machine to another but is not to be abused by getting a lifetime licence and using it on everything, everywhere, or for multiple people, (for example, your staff, in a company) when in that case a single licence is required for each entity or there are (as I understand it) licencing deals with discounts for multiple purchases to be had.
    That's my understanding of it, from memory.

    Patrick
    ps found the info

    pricing page

    'Quantity Discounted Price Per Unit
    1 25.35 US$ (39 US$)
    2-4 23.40 US$ (36 US$)
    5-9 21.45 US$ (33 US$)
    10-49 19.50 US$ (30 US$)
    50-99 17.55 US$ (27 US$)
    100-199 15.60 US$ (24 US$)
    200-299 13.65 US$ (21 US$)
    300-maximum 11.70 US$ (18 US$)


    As a registered user, you will receive:

    1. Email with a lifetime license code sent to you instantly.
    2. Full functional Shadow Defender.
    3. 100% FREE product updates and upgrades.
    4. Free technical support with E-mail.

    We have partnered with Avangate and use their services to handle online order processing. Avangate is a company that provides payment processing solutions to manufacturers of software products.'


     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2020
  10. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Thank you for the detailed reply Patrick, confirming what I`d hoped from this really cool app.:thumb:

    Thus, I`ve just purchased two licences:D

    Regards Eck:)
     
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,712
    Location:
    Canada
  13. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
  14. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
  16. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    That's pretty nice. I used that site before, I think the catch is, once a new version of the program is out, you're ******. If you update, it will once again ask to pay or free trial. At least that's how it was with other programs I tried, not sure about shadow defender.

    Foul language removed.
    Please consider your words before posting them
    stapp
     
  17. Efbiai

    Efbiai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    México
    Hello.
    Is it normal that after using ShadowDefender and restarting my pc to get everything back to the way it was before I went into some sort of repair with text like:
    Fixing C: 1 Phase
    ?
    I thought it was weird because in no video I saw ShadowDefender do that.
    That process took about 1 hour to finish.

    Thank you.
     
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
    Perhaps you could tell us some things.
    Which operating system?
    Did you have Fast boot on or off?
    Did you do just 'ordinary things while in Shadow Mode...on the internet, emails youtube etc.
    Which antivirus do you use?
    Did you use Shadow Defender with the default settings ?
    How long did you use it before the reboot?
     
  19. Efbiai

    Efbiai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    México
    1. Windows 10
    2. Fast boot Off
    3. I have been installing a program to verify that it does not continue when rebooting.
    OBS to be exact
    4. I only have Windows Defender, but I have it deactivated.
    5. I enabled the options to protect ShadowDefender with password and another one to Encrypt something I don't remember.
    6. I was in ShadowMode for about 15-20 minutes.
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,420
    Location:
    UK
    My guess (and it's only a guess) is it's something to do with number 5.
    I have never done any of those things in number 5 while in Shadow Mode.
    On one machine I run Defender and would not consider turning it off.
    In the years I have been using Shadow Defender it has never failed to return to how it was before going into Shadow mode.
     
  21. Efbiai

    Efbiai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    México
    Thank you for your response.
     
  22. Efbiai

    Efbiai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    México
    I disabled those options, used ShadowMode for 15 minutes and everything worked correctly on reboot. :thumb::)
     
  23. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,068
    What is 'OBS' an abbreviation of?

     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2021
  24. Efbiai

    Efbiai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    México
    Open Broadcaster Software(OBS) is a free and open source application for video recording and streaming.
     
  25. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Romania
    First, thanks for free offer. :thumb:
    Second (as a first time user) a question. It is normal/safe to enter Shadow Mode with some files (what files?) in use?

    sd.jpg

    Windows 10 up to date, Defender and WiseVector StopX.

    Thanks.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.