The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,130
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I'm afraid this goes beyond my knowledge, perhaps someone else might be able to advise you.
     
  2. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,026
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2020
  3. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,474
    Location:
    USA
    I have had no issues whatsoever performing image-backups of my system and data volumes (using Drive Snapshot) while those volumes were in Shadow Mode (the volumes restore perfectly). While I can't vouch for Macrium Reflect I doubt that doing the same with MR would pose any problems. The only caveat here is: never place your backup destination volume into Shadow Mode!!! ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2020
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,713
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes. Just hide the volume/partition.
     
  5. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Perfectly reasonable. :)
     
  6. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Australia
    Web Browsers caution going to Shadow Defender website.
    Are others seeing either cautions or connection not secure or privacy error?

    (Experiment #1)

    A bookmark I created, probably in February 2020 (when I downloaded 1.4.0.680), was working fine but today it is not …….
    The bookmark is https://www.shadowdefender.com/

    Today, using that bookmark, I get blocked pages:

    Vivaldi blocks the page with:
    Your connection is not private
    Attackers might be trying to steal your information from
    www.shadowdefender.com (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards).
    Learn more
    NET::ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID
    Advanced
    https://www.shadowdefender.com
    Back to safety

    FireFox also blocks the page with:
    Warning: Potential Security Risk Ahead
    Firefox detected a potential security threat and did not continue to
    www.shadowdefender.com. If you visit this site, attackers could try to steal information
    like your passwords, emails, or credit card details.
    Learn more...
    Go Back (Recommended)

    (Experiment #2)
    When I type shadow defender into the search engine of an open browser, then I can get to the website, however the connection is flagged as “not secure”. In both Vivaldi and Firefox.
    I wonder how safe it is to buy a licence on this website even for version 1.4.0.680?

    [PS: I’m using a variety of privacy extensions I both browsers.
    Extensions common to both browsers: adblock plus, disconnect, duckduckgo privacy essentials, emsisoft browser security, ghostery, https everywhere, privacy badger.

    Possibly a false positive? Still, it appears to be the “new/changed” certificate that’s being objected to. No proof – just a gut feeling.

    feandur
     
  7. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Lunar module
    When you click "Buy now" here
    ScreenShot_280.png
    you will be taken to
    ScreenShot_281.png
    with a valid digital certificate and your purchase will be secure.
     
  8. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    I had to revert my system from an earlier image, and SD (free) install has now expired. Anyone know of a current free build please?
     
  9. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Lunar module
  10. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    @Feandur
    I have the same on my Firefox - the site is alerted by default so I've checked details - it's because of selfsigned certificate. Try open "advanced" and check your info.
     
  11. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Australia
    @aldist:
    You are correct. Even if I have concerns about the current website, at least I can securely get a licence for the last 1.4 version.
    That is a great relief, as I now have a Win 10 Pro and researching what to put on it.
    I want to retire my Win 7 Pro (32 bit running Shadow Defender, DefenceWall, and EAM).

    @ichito:
    Thanks for that, yes self signed certificate is the problem:
    www.shadowdefender.com uses an invalid security certificate.
    The certificate is not trusted because it is self-signed.
    Error code: MOZILLA_PKIX_ERROR_SELF_SIGNED_CERT
    View Certificate

    Not sure what the implications are, re the web site? Some concern.

    In the mean time I have followed posts 3 and 4 and been looking at Faronics Deep Freeze.
    Like drawing blood out of a stone there. Not much upfront (IMHO).
    Everything behind the curtain - You have to contact them to get prices.
    Still not clear how it works, except how wonderful it is according to the testimonials.

    I may still do that.

    all the best Wilderlings.
    feandur
     
  12. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    uk
  13. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Oh yes, "Expired offer".
    First backup this key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{78C3F4BC-C7BC-48E4-AD72-2DD16F6704A9} , than delete this key and reinstall "over the top" any version (without deinstallation), or do a clean install. This is a legal tool, no program files are changed. Or use Revo Uninstaller Portable (trial version) for deinstall SD.
    Also you can download the preactivated v1.4.0.680 without limitation on the installation date https://winningpc.com/product/shadow-defender-review-coupon-code/#instructions
    ScreenShot_282.png
     
  14. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    I'm sorry, but the link on the above page then redirects when clicking "get it free" to http://www.shadowdefender.com/?AFFILIATE=59932 which installs and says my trial period has ended. Deleting the key seems to do nothing. What am I missing?

    I'd buy it if not for the ownership etc uncertainties.
     
  15. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2020
  16. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    Thank you. Unfortunately despite my system (Win10x64v2004) being fully updated, and I just rechecked, I get
    upload_2020-9-12_12-26-29.png
    and it fails to install properly.

    Guess I need version 1.5. Think I'll give up. If I really was that bothered I would pay for it even given my reservations about the lack of knowledge of the Author etc.
    I used IOBit unistaller
     
  17. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Ha-ha! Have you upgraded Windows 10 over Windows 7? These KBs are required when installing SD on Windows 7. There are no updates KB3185278 and KB3125574 for Windows 10. From Windows 7 experience, click No and proceed with SD installation and SD will work fine.
    All SD versions work fine on Win10 v2004. Install v1.5, you will have a 30-day trial period, if everything goes well, reinstalling you can extend it life time for another 30 days ...
    It also looks like your Windows 10 is installed with errors. If all else fails, then try Toolwiz Time Freeze http://www.toolwiz.com/lead/toolwiz_time_freeze.php it's freeware, reliable and runs on Windows 10.
     
  18. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    TTF is abandoned from years and for sure offers and covers not as much as SD. I don't think it would be good and efficient replacement of it.
     
  19. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    I did, it didn't ;) I'll stick with Sandboxie
     
  20. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Stop comparsion SD to Sandboxie its totaly diferent programs which totaly diferent work.

    Sandboxie isolate Programs or Files from rest
    You can put more restriction in options to prevent read/write data on specific sector.

    Shadow defender if you run virus on your disk will work with out isolation can still spy and get full access whole all files..
    if you reset system than system will back to 1st point before infection/modifaction but files stolen will be still stolen.. same as telemetry.

    I prefer combine multi layers instand of chose 1 bc are diferent. And both of them are worth to use and add kind of hips/SRP to this for better hardering.
     
  21. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Oh, it's just a problem, probably, the activation time has expired. Try Toolwiz Time Freeze, I have used it for a long time, it is really great program. It's better than Sandboxie.
     
  22. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    Thanks for all your help. Very much appreciated.
     
  23. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Trying out SD (I actually bought the program) I have a few queries about which more experienced users may advise me:

    In the settings

    1. Which registry exclusion entries would one ever want to include in this section?

    2. What do you include in the File Exclusion section that you consider safe to do so?

    I tested committing my Thunderbird data directory. Its has about 38,000 files and its size is just over 4GB. During the commit which took several minutes SD reported two corrupted files. Since I didn't have Thunderbird running at all when I entered shadow mode and I did not use Thunderbird when SD was active, I wonder why SD found these two corrupted files. I had to press Ignore in order for the program to complete the commit process. Since I didn't run Thunderbird at any time after I entered shadow mode I may assume that no harm was done by the error.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,077
    Location:
    UK
    Using SD I don't do any exclusions.
    I don't commit anything.
    I leave SD settings at default.
    I go into Shadow Mode, use my machine as I would normally, then I either shut down or restart my machine when I want to come out of Shadow Mode.
    If using Win 10 make sure you turn off FastBoot/FastStart up.
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,130
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I also use SD at default, and if I wish to commit a file or folder I use the right-click menu 'commit by Shadow Defender'. I also have constantly plugged in an 8 GB flash-drive in normal mode just in case I want to save something without the hassle of the context menu.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.