The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,683
    tony's last name must be stark. he's always too busy with his work & errands, no one knows his whereabouts and only @sdmod can access him when desperately needed. :rolleyes:
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,987
    Location:
    UK
    Win 10 1903 with Fast Startup turned off as recommended.
    Downloaded and installed 1.4.0.68 from Shareware on Sale website.
    Downloaded and installed a couple of programs.
    Then I turned machine off.
    When I turned the machine back on everything I had done was gone.
    So this download works on 1903.
    (temp email address given)
     
  3. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    250
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Any news about Tony?

    Came
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,987
    Location:
    UK
  5. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    250
    Location:
    Mexico City
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,440
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb:
     
  7. ernestted

    ernestted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hey guys,

    I'm wondering for the reason for this: ntbtlog.txt is written to disk during boot in shadow mode, the file is not accessible (write/delete) when in shadow mode so it grows and grows with each boot. The file is wrote when boot logging is enabled (enabled using bcdedit). Windows 7 64-bit, latest Shadow Defender. Possibly because the log happens very early at boot SD cannot catch it.?

    Thanks,
    ErnestTed
     
  8. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    257
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    some issues on SD with Thago Fences, now I have the files in volume are in use prompt every single time

    wonder if other program that adds fences causes issues
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2019
  9. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I don't know Thago Feneces but I've read that is something like manager of desktop content...perhaps you know desktop is part of system and it's located on system disk. So...every change made in desktop in Shadow Mode (using TF also) or every option of TF set in such mode will not be saved and will be removed after reboot. Your problem is not precisely decribed so it's hard to guess what's the reason of it.
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Is place.sqlite still the file to exclude in order to save your bookmarks while in Shadow Mode? I have not done it in a long time since I was having problems with Firefox reverting back to default settings, that was years ago.
     
  11. t3ster

    t3ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Does Shadow Defender (still) work well with rollback rx (free version)?
    (I ran both well but I ran into issues a while ago and stopped using SD and only used the free version of rollback)
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    I get more strange behaviour with SD and Win 10, vers.1903, lately the counter of 'space used by SD remains 0.00 MB even after several hours of shadow mode...
    It still works in the sense that it deletes any trace of a shadow session (well so far I have no reason to believe the opposite) but I'm using more and more Macrium Reflect for the same purpose... Anybody else with the same behaviour?
     
  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,375
    Location:
    .
    png_471.png png_472.png
    W10 Home 1903 -- SD v1.4.0.680
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  14. kakaka

    kakaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    67
    I think the zeros are for "write cache" RAM.
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,375
    Location:
    .
    and @Osaban asked about "Space Used by SD" #5737
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    SD SCREENSHOT.PNG
    This is after a session of about 2 hours... I will try uninstalling it and reinstalling, see what happens...This version of Win 10 was a clean install therefore an upgrade glitch is ruled out.
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    SD RAM.PNG Uninstalling and reinstalling didn't change anything, it is odd though, everything else seems to work normally

    But when I assign RAM as Write Cache, it checks the amount of RAM used in memory...
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
  18. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    971
    Do you have Fast startup (aka: hiberboot, hybrid boot, or hybrid shutdown) enabled in Windows 10? Tony recommends that it be disabled when using Shadow Defender. Just a thought.

     
  19. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    No, I've known about these problems for a long time, and I can only think Win 10 version 1903 is responsible for this. As I said, the program seems to work fine, even hibernation in shadow mode is okay. The shadow volume definitely exists as files and folders thereafter created disappear upon rebooting in normal mode. I'll just have to live with it.
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,375
    Location:
    .
    try > turn Hibernate Off, too....just to see. I always turn Hibernate Off ....otherwise Windows update turns Fast Startup back On.
    png_480.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    Thanks, but the problem persists even with hibernation off.
    I've just downloaded a file of 8 GB on my desktop in shadow mode, and it disappeared upon rebooting in normal mode, therefore the core function of the program works as advertised. My hard disk is about 1 TB, no risk of running out of space, but it is annoying to know something is not working properly even if it might be insignificant...
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,375
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I'm 1903 Build 18362.175. I'll check when I'm Build 18362.207
     
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,683
    tested it with 18362.207 under vm but couldn't reproduce the issue @Osaban 's having.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
  24. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    971
    I've emailed Tony about it and will post here if/when I receive a reply.

    Patrick


     
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,375
    Location:
    .
    Yes, my Build 18362.207 is okay.
    Thanks
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.