The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,682
    Location:
    Mexico
    Right over the top. Reboot afterwards.
     
  2. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    Does the version .680 completely replace the good old icon in the taskbar? I think the old icon was perfect. I really prefer the old look of the program prior to version .680. I think the new icon looks cheap. Huge mistake imho.
     
  3. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2019
  4. bsvols

    bsvols Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    I would be very interested to know what program you are using in place of "Shadow Defender" (if you are using a different virtualisation app at all, and you don't mind sharing).
     
  5. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Faronics Deep Freeze, Toolwiz Time Freeze, Reboot Restore Rx Free, and "time machine" like RollBack Rx Home.
     
  6. bsvols

    bsvols Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks, but I am aware of those and other programs. My question was directed specifically to "Athas", regarding which program he/she is using to avoid data coruption and other problems. It was not a request for general lists or preferences..
     
  7. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,002
    No criticism and correct me if I'm wrong but I think that the only one in the same category as Shadow Defender is DeepFreeze; the others do a different job in a different way. Maybe forum members might be able to explain, as I'm no expert.
    @TheRollbackFrog mentions it in post #64 here

    DeepFreeze was very solid and reliable when I used it but that was many versions ago.

    In my experience rollback type apps will dump you in the gutter sooner or later. When I used them, I liked them a lot at first and came to rely on them but I think with system changes and hardware changes, they don't like it sometimes. Sorry that is not a very scientific explanation but that is what I felt.

     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2019
  8. Athas

    Athas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    CH
    Hi, @bsvols

    Unfortunately, @aldist has already named all similar software I know of. I've been using RollBack Rx for a while, and didn't have any negative experiences with it (except the uneasy feeling that my data is scattered around the disk without Windows having any idea about what's really going on. :) )

    I've also used Raxco InstantRecovery; this one is also very different from Shadow Defender, but it does not modify your System in such a profound way as RollBack Rx does. It also doesn't seem to be designed as as a tool to protect against malware, but just as a way to quicky restore Windows after something has gone wrong user/software wise. :)

    Currently, i use no Time Freeze software (if you exclude SandBoxie), but rather restore a full image of my system partition whenever something goes wrong. It does take a little bit longer, but it's a very reliable method.

    I hovever still keep an eye on this thread, because Shadow Defender's functionality is still unmatched for this type of software, and if this weird data corruption problem ever gets fixed, I would immediately start using it.


     
  9. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Since you are writing on the forum, everyone can answer. If you want to get an answer only from Athas, write to him in the PM :)
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,502
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Similar experience with same results here Patrick.

    Long ago was as well using Faronics DeepFreeze that thing was a CAGE. It locked in tight and after session crushed and disposed of previous usage as though nothing different even had been entered on Windows. I always seen it as a Beast.

    That said Shadow Defender is always been 100% failsafe and error proof ever since those years I installed it and nothing is changed in the least even now. That's some real staying power and a credit to it's developer-inventer. Nothing else compares IMHO nor likely ever will.
     
  11. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
  12. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    306
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    1. I am unable to install SD on newest win 10 with update, should have known better and install just before any other tweaks/updates now I am stuck
    it basically runs , there is a setup window I click continue the mouse cursor spins and then nothing (I also tried to unpack it), I also have problems with NVT os armor and exe radar pro with the latest updates but that's for another story. Because of this I am running Time Freeze which installed just fine but wonder about the rootkits lol and how to mitigate them, I know TF can't stop stuff like TD4. If there is another program that can let me know, all these programs look like abandoned..
    2. just wanted to add 1 thing to the discussion the program (SD) runs better with lesser file corruptions (they still are there and the most worrisome one is the firewall corruption) if u run it on a nvme pcie for instance, disk speed helps alot in that regard. I removed alot of BSOD and sleep/wake up problems too I had on Crucial disk. It has to be on win 10 since with win 7 there was some issues in my exp
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  13. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Try to install in safe mode. Try v1.4.0.672. ToolWiz Time Freeze beginning in May 26 2012, it also added MBR protection. There are no other decent programs for this purpose.
    You have a lot of problems with software and hardware, which is probably why the OS behaves in this way.
     
  14. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    306
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    thx for replying, I ran this on second laptop which has fresh install of windows, I don't suspect hardware I think its me or the update
    first time I run into install problems with SD, weird, safe mode does nada. TF is good enough if it has MBR protection and I have only 1 drive in it so will stick to TF on the lap

    @aldist hmm maybe it was some vc_credist or similar prerequisite, as said I tried install SD on fresh win 10 1809
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  15. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,002
    @lucd

    Have you turned off fast boot ?

    Tony (the Shadow Defender developer) recommends that you turn off fast boot, also known as hiberboot, hybrid boot, or hybrid shutdown if you are running Shadow Defender. There is plenty of information on the net about how to disable it.

    As I understand it (correct me if I'm wrong) 'fast boot' (which comes with recent Windows operating sytem) is not a clean boot but a sort of virtual boot to allow a faster re-boot.

    Shadow Defender is not the only program to have problems with it.

    Patrick


     
  16. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,502
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I suspect Windows 10 group is trying to make a point that some of the best protections ever designed for Windows which is merrily run with perfection is no longer acceptable to their new idea of their Windows systems.

    Is why this user is locked in tight and solid with Windows 8.1 and not budging for the world.
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,976
    SD has been working flawlessly with all versions of Windows 10 on two different fast laptops (Samsung and Asus). The only sensible precaution to take is to disable fast boot, as pointed out by Patrick. I also would not exclude anything, and rather use the commit tool with the right click option if any files should be committed to disk...
    @lucd Have tried to disable Exe Radar Pro before installing SD?
     
  18. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    306
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I have like 3 laptops right now and 1 stationary, and products from NVT are not working (memory exeption problems) and uninstalled after an update I did on the laptop in question, for now I decided not to update for a while other systems so these products keep rolling just fine but that particular laptop, I am not afraid of loosing an update if I am virtualized 24 7. I was hoping somebody else did a fresh install of SD on the latest Windows update and know something, I know for sure I am not the only one with NVT problems (see latest forum posts of exe radar pro). I'll stick with time freeze on that lap. I must say: if u have 1 disk it looks and seam to work very similar, I like it
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2019
  19. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    306
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    Nvm removing this fixed SD and NVT, all fine but file corruption

    reg delete "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\I/O System" /v IoBlockLegacyFsFilters /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    reg delete "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\kernel" /v MitigationOptions /t REG_QWORD /d 1407379179639125 /f
     
  20. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    sweden
    I have been searching the net for a discount coupon for SD but no luck. Anyone knows where to find one?
     
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,976
    This is the text of an e-mail that I sent to Shadow Defender support, hopefully Patrick might help connecting with Tony:

    I have been using Shadow Defender since its first version and I consider it probably one of the best programs for indirect security ever made. I have never had issues in the past but now there is something serious that I have experienced and would like to report it.

    My system is an Intel Core i7-3635 QM CPU @ 2.40 GHz, 8 GB of RAM, Intel HD Graphics 4000.

    Operating system: Windows 10 (64 bit) home edition, version 1809 build 17763.379

    Shadow Defender version used: 1.4.0.680 with default configuration.

    Issue: Sometimes I work with large files, downloads of about 7-10 GB in shadow mode, and then commit them to the original volume by right clicking the file context menu and using the ‘commit’ function.

    So far everything works fine but sometimes when I reboot out of shadow mode, the computer hangs forever and won’t boot into Windows in normal mode.

    It happened three times, as I said not always, and I had to restore an image backup using an imaging program. My guess the problem has to do with the partition table (GPT disk) which is sometimes corrupted when exiting shadow mode. I think Shadow defender is responsible because it has been happening after exiting shadow mode and committing large files.

    Thanking you in advance I hope you can look into it, Windows 10 has had so many frequent changes that it is for sure part of the problem.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  22. topguynow

    topguynow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Does Shadow Defender play well with Chromebooks? If so is function and protection as smooth as it would be with my current setup of Windows 8.1? Thanks for the replies.
     
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,976
    support@shadowdefender.com does not work my e-mail bounced back, too bad, the beginning of the end...
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    13,801
    Location:
    UK
    This is what I get

    LMTP error after end of data: 452 4.2.2 <support@shadowdefender.com> Mailbox is full / Blocks limit exceeded / Inode limit exceeded:
    retry timeout exceeded
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,976
    Yes, same message here...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.