The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    Not because you have several layers that you are safer. If you have one ativirus, antimalware, sandbox, anti-executable, firewall, shadow defender, etc etc. This often only increases the chance of causing incompatibility between one software to another without increasing security. Do you think if I took off the antivirus from this list I made, the PC would be less secure? Does the antivirus can not only be using resources, altering the OS, sending private information (online time, your id of the machine etc)?

    More is often less.
     
  2. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,206
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    23,934
    SD can "only" clear changes.
    And if you have only SD installed, malware can log your keystrokes, submit your files, and can do other nasty things.
    The point here is to have at least an additional security layer to prevent/mitigate this (but not a bunch of layers as you mentioned, this can indeed cause problems)
    But it's not a must.
     
  4. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,858
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Few questions...
    I don't know what to say...you are joking...right?
    What - to your answer - has to do the number of security layers in my system?
    Do you know my security setup?
    If yes...where do you see antivirus or/and antimalware?
    How many "less" means "more"?
    o_O
     
  5. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    I was not talking about your setup. I was just giving an example of a situation.
     
  6. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    Yes, this is because I like AE and sandboxes (if you set SandboxIE to block execution), to not let malwares run. Shadow Defender is just if something goes wrong with these two first.
     
  7. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,185
    Location:
    USA
    I've never found SD to conflict with any AV/AM software that I have tried. But it did conflict with a backup-snapshot program (AX64)!
     
  8. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,185
    Location:
    USA
    Since SD allows anything to run in its virtualized space, I think Wendi's suggestion (adding an antivirus/antimalware program to block threats) makes good sense! I believe that's the extent of layering she is advocating. :thumb:
     
  9. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    Having recently said 'sayonara' to Rollback Rx, I'm very interested in using SD to protect my WinXP Pro (x86) system. What's the latest version of SD that supports my OS?
     
  10. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,185
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know anything about the special SD giveaway version, but according to the SD website the latest official release, v1.4.0.648, and prior versions support XP! :thumb:
    http://www.shadowdefender.com/ > select Download tab and look under System Requirements.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2016
  11. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,185
    Location:
    USA
    appster,

    As I'm also an ex-Rollback Rx user I think you made a smart decision in parting ways. Btw, you might also consider Sandboxie which is even more secure than SD and there is a free version!
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2016
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,660
    Location:
    Mexico
    Even a smarter decision would be to "joining ways", i.e., to use SBIE + Shadow Defender which cover all your needs of sandboxing and light virtualization to keep your system really clean.
     
  13. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,206
    Mister X - may I ask how you use both programs together? I am a long-term user of sandboxie and primarily sandbox my browsers and pdf as standard. I can see where I might want to use SD for a specific surfing session or test some software before deciding if I like it or not but most of this I can do in Sbie already. How do you allocate the "jobs" to SD and to Sbie? Just looking for some ideas on a strategy.
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,512
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I ll give you my perspective on what you asking. In my opinion if you have Sandboxies paid version the perfect way for using both programs together is to use Sandboxie to sandbox all files and programs that run in your computer. You can have this done automatically by forcing programs to run sandboxed, that way when you click a file or run a program, they run sandboxed automatically in their own sandbox. Thats how I use Sandboxie. Pretty much, the only time that I am using my computer and I am not using Sandboxie is when the computer is idle or is time to update something. And then use Shadow defender for testing programs or changes in the computer to see how this changes affect the PC. This is my case use of combining both programs.

    If you have Sandboxies free version, then I think its worth using both programs at the same time. I would use Sandboxie to sandbox the browser and anything else that as a user I wouldnt feel inconvenient by having to run this or that program or file sandboxed manually. And all activities done in Shadow mode. I think that's great protection. I would update all programs out of Shadow mode and only allow exclusions to bookmarks. And save whatever file I want to save by Committing.

    Bo
     
  15. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,115
    SP2 or SP3? SP2 is not really supported from any current program. in fact XP is dead, but that wont be interesting for you.

    concerning sandboxie and shadow defender - i use both - paid. if SB fails i still can fall back to SD to check test installations.
    but - SD is no tool to check suspicious programs with unknown purpose, you know? then a virtual system is best.
     
  16. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    SP3, but my point was that GOTD version won't install, official one installs fine.
     
  17. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,206

    Thanks Bo - yes, I do have the paid version, so your suggestion is roughly what I would think of doing. I am sure I am not using sbie as expertly as you are nor am I quite as consistent in my approach, but using shadow defender for special occasions would work for me.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,512
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    In my view, yes, yes, yes. I think you can get more out of Sandboxie than what you are getting now.

    Bo
     
  19. RoamMaster

    RoamMaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    48
    So I've finally given SD demo a try. Something I'm wondering about. If I set the Exclusion List to say E: does that protect E's MBR, while leaving full access to change all files on the drive?

    I've noticed it doesn't recognize A or B drive, like at all. I have my cd drive assigned to A and one of my hard drive partitions assigned to B. Shadow Defender doesn't even seem to realize they're there. I assume because it just figures hard drives start at C:

    Maybe not a bug, and I may be the only person who assigns drive letters by hand. I sometimes have up to 5 drives connected at a time, and I partition each drive into multiple pieces, so I need the drive letters for when I connect things like my flash drives, and my phone(which takes up four letters between its drivers, storage, sd card, and system partition).
     
  20. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I think you mean E's VBR, and no that would not be protected if Shadow Mode is not enabled for E.

    Probably so. There may be other SD-related repercussions if the system volume is not C: You could ask the developer,Tony, to address this.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  21. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,858
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    It's not a bug - it's a feature. Letters A and B are reserved in Windows for floppy disks...no matter they are exists in machine or not. You just cant name disk using those labels. The same as in SD is in many apps used to manage disk space (disk/partitions creators)...is not possible work with label A, B.
    You have to change the letters of your disk and is no needed ask Tony...it's actually obvious.
    Huge explanation of this matter
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drive_letter_assignment
     
  22. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    I checked and it seems I can assign "B" to my data partition (normally "G"), the Windows disk manager doesn´t complain at all (I didn´t reboot to complete the change).
     
  23. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,858
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Do this...reebot the system...we'll see what will happen...maybe nothing?...or not? ;)
     
  24. RoamMaster

    RoamMaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    48
    You can easily use A and B drives, they aren't reserved. I've booted my system hundreds of times, and nothing changes. Windows doesn't automatically assign them, but when I go into the admin tool Computer Management and go to disk drives, I can assign both A and B to anything I want to.
    A and B.jpg

    Returnil and TimeFreeze are aware of my B drive. SD is not(no I'm not using them at the same time). I don't think SD is coded to even look for anything other than C-Z. I wonder if it can find dynamic or virtual drives?

    My system volume is C for Wndows 7(D for XP), BTW.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  25. RoamMaster

    RoamMaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    48
    That's not what I'm saying. I'll just post screen caps.
    MBR protection.jpg
    Would the MBR/VBR be protected in this case?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.