The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
  2. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,971
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Thanks Cruelsister for test and LunarWolf for sharing...excellent result. BTW shows that SD is not pointed as the protection against data-leaking...it's thing that users often forget.
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yup, then I recommend WFC (Windows Firewall Control) to control that leak...
     
  4. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Best match for SD is either WSA (with antikeylogger protection)/ BD free with zemana free antilogger + WFC / Panda free with zemana free antilogger + WFC /Qihoo 360 TSE (no local engines enable with antikeylogger protection) + WFC
     
  5. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,971
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    The "best"?...it's SS :D
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Lets no go here. The "Best" is whatever you are comfortable using, ie there is no best, just lots of options.
     
  7. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,084
    I've had problems with Zemana and Shadow Defender compatibility in the distant past. I can't remember what the issue was but I think Zemana caused a problem with Shadow Defender.
    I'm only mentioning it casually, in passing.


     
  8. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    The thing is not about best AV. Is about using a cloud AV (so that one does not need to update + a good firewall/firewall control + a antikeylogger)
     
  9. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,084
    Re: Shadow Defender test‏
    Re: Shadow Defender test
    support@shadowdefender.com

    11:38 AM

    To: Patrick

    Shadow Defender vs Selected Malware


    Hi Patrick,

    Thanks for your information.

    Best regards,
    Tony






    On 2016-04-10 20:14 , Patrick Wrote:

    Hi Tony,
    Here is a link to a test done with Shadow Defender where it defeats latest ransomware and others.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cIy80Wkce4

    best wishes

    Patrick

    .........

     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Well two things.

    1. I've had occasion to have to test ransomware, on one of my desktops, 3 internal disks. I just shadowed them all , and let the ransomware have at it. Totally encrypted most data files. Rebooted out of Shadowmode. System fine. I wouldn't try it with anything else.

    2. Some of you probably sensed my feelings about not just buying SD. Well I have two licenses, and just bought a third I don't need simply because support. I had a real strange interaction between 3 programs, one of them being SD which was bluescreening. I sent the info to Patrick yesterday, and this morning Tony had a test version which fixed the problem. Folks it just doesn't get any better than that.

    Pete
     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    Kudos to Tony!!! :thumb::cool:
     
  12. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,362
    Location:
    Oz
    What does he mean @ 2:23 "We'll also have to do a hard reset for this one"?

    He also recommends using an outbound alerting firewall. Is there a particular firewall that anyone can recommend that doesn't slow things down in Windows 7, that serves this purpose?

    I also tried EXERadar Pro and it ran pretty smoothly. Does anyone here use it with SD?

    Thanks for the video.
     
  13. yeL

    yeL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Posts:
    175
    Shadow Defender 1.4.0.623 is now available.
    http://www.shadowdefender.com/download.html
     
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    v1.4.0.623 (2016-04-14)
    Code:
    File     : SD1.4.0.623_Setup.exe
    Size     : 3.18 MB
    SHA1     : 1A17FFB4B00951CD16724B954A414594AA0AEF40
    SHA256   : 1A34C26F8292053AC2CE5BB253CA0492D6A3800B4DDCEB023B325574F5E32188
    
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    SD and NVT's ERP work fine together for me. Also I use Emsisoft's EIS for firewall and that also is fine with SD. The fix related to a change in the EIS's latest beta
     
  16. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,519
    Location:
    Paris
    Caspian-

    1). The reset- just meant that the reset button must be pressed to boot back into Windows as the normal Start menu button to do this no longer existed.

    2). The Outbound Firewall- this is really a necessity for anyone that does not have one. As any data stealing malware must connect out to do any damage, such a firewall will alert you to this fact and give you a fighting chance to remediate.

    3). And it's a She (trust me).
     
  17. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    :argh::thumb: Respect...
     
  18. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    So I updated to the latest version 1.4.0.623, and just to test it out, entered Shadow Mode, this message came up though.

    http://i.imgur.com/k8589LS.png

    Now I don't use SD often, in fact almost never, but I don't ever remember seeing this message before, and nothing was running in the background and a reboot doesn't change things, I still get the same message. Are others getting this too?

    I'm on Windows 7 64-bit if that matters.
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats a message you can safely ignore. Its just to remind you to close any file or program that you might be running. And dont worry, you might see it even when nothing is running. I never see it in W7 but see it often in XP, despite nothing running. You can click OK or cancel. I usually click Cancel and after a few seconds, reopen SD, and get in Shadow mode.

    Bo
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I just routinely click on okay. Never an issue.
     
  21. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Okay that's a bit reassuring then, are others seeing this though, I'm pretty sure I've never got this before, because in my mind a message warning like this is a red flag, like when you need to reboot and it asks to close/save things first.

    This could of course all be nothing, and maybe my mind is just being forgetful, this could have always been the case from the first time I've used the program, and only now I'm wondering about it.
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Special, 1. Its been like that forever. I use old version 1.2.0.346 in both of my computers. 2. What Pete and I are telling you is 100% correct. Relax and have fun.:)

    Bo
     
  23. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Okay I'll try to relax. :)
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Good :cool:. I felt like you the first few times I saw that message.

    Bo
     
  25. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,362
    Location:
    Oz
    Thanks so much for the tip. I'm going to give Emsisoft's EIS a try and go ahead with a purchase to EXERadar Pro.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.