The unofficial Shadow Defender Support Thread.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Re: Shadow defender, How good is it?

    Thank you again.You have been a great help.:thumb:
     
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    You can assign any amount of memory to SD. If you assign too much, Windows performance will suffer. If you assign too low, SD will use disk cache as needed.

    I made some tests assigning 500 MB to SD on a computer with 4 GB RAM. It worked well, but I didn´t notice any obvious benefit. Most of the time SD used both RAM and disk cache, even when the RAM cache used was less than 500 MB.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2013
  3. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Shadow defender, How good is it?

    Glad I could help. :)
     
  4. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    If I were you I wouldn't assign more than 1000MB. This way Windows will still have 3gigs to play with.
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Thanks that is exactly what i have assigned.

    I now have a small issue.I use a toshiba laptop and when i enter shadow mode .(i set shadow mode to be always on).I have a toshiba HDD alert service running which checks the integrity of the HDD and i am now receiving alerts at every re-boot that the service cannot access the hard drive.

    Any ideas on what i should do here please.?
    I have posted this issue on the shadow defender forum.
     
  6. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Re: The Great Shadow Defender Facebook Giveaway

    I am one of the fortunate ones who received a license through this Giveaway and I am grateful! Thank you.

    Since I just installed it yesterday, I'm still learning what I can about the software. I have lots of questions, but I'll start with just one.

    For now, I envision using SD for testing purposes; testing new programs/software. My question is regarding software that require re-boots. Sometimes when installing software you are not going to know ahead of time if a re-boot is required or not. What do you do if you are installing a program while in shadow mode and then realize that a re-boot is required? Do you just do a "commit" before re-booting?
     
  7. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Re: The Great Shadow Defender Facebook Giveaway

    You can use SD for testing software that DOES NOT require a reboot. Otherwise, try snapshot software.
     
  8. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    Download CCleaner (or any other tool that has a module that enables you to modify start-up programs), and disable the Toshiba Utility from auto-starting. If I was to choose between any Toshiba disk utility bloatware and SD, I would most definitely choose SD.

    Also make sure you also have a recent backup of C: always. Keep updating your backup incrementally as you are adding new software that you want to keep, and save two copies of it in two different mediums in order to cover yourself against disk failure.

    Always make at least two copies of everything you value, one of which should be stored away from the PC. Also don't forget to always verify both backup copies for corruption every time you are adding stuff to the system and take a new incremental backup. Having an unverified backup is almost like having no backup at all!

    The same applies for all your important files. Make two copies of everything you value (videos, photos, music, personal documents etc), stored in two different mediums. Keep updating both copies as you add new stuff, so they both stay the same. If one of them dies, you'll be glad you did. Never trust a single piece of media with your irreplaceable personal files.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2013
  9. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Thank you cyberman.I have ccleaner installed plus autoruns.
     
  10. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    :D
    Both very good proggies :D
     
  11. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    If you want to commit a software install, go to the SD section that has a list of your volumes with a tick next to them. You make sure that only the C: volume is ticked, and click the Exit Shadow Mode button. A prompt will come up asking you reject or commit changes and reboot, you just select Commit and restart. Don't click the Exit All Shadow Modes button, this one will just reject all changes and will take ALL volumes out of Shadow Mode, without giving you the chance to commit any changes.

    Once the computer reboots, make sure you run a disk cleaning app like CCleaner (or similar) to get rid of any temporary junk files. Configure the new program to your liking, and then schedule Shadow Mode to auto-start with Windows again, and reboot.

    Please be aware that committing this way will not just selectively commit the new installation only; it will also commit any other changes that have taken place since Shadow Mode was activated for C:. Be careful when committing this way because if you make a mistake there will be no turning back to a previous disk state - unless of course you have a very recent full backup of C: handy, or unless you also have snapshot software installed.

    BTW, a full backup of C: is ESSENTIAL before trying out any low-level system utility like SD.

    Please also visit the official SD forum:

    http://www.shadowdefenderforum.com

    Most of the SD regulars here at Wilders are there also, and they will be able to help if you need further assistance.
     
  12. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    Thank you, however, I did mention that sometimes you may not know ahead of time if a re-boot is required:

    Thank you very much. That was quite helpful and the process I was looking for.

    Since, for now, I envision only using SD for testing new software/programs I don't think this should be a problem, correct?
     
  13. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    You can test-install in Shadow Mode, and if the software asks you to reboot click "reboot later" or similar. Then take C: out of Shadow Mode, rejecting all changes this time. The PC will come back into Normal Mode, with the new test-install completely undone. You can then install it again, reboot, clean up junk files, configure the new software, then schedule Shadow Mode again.
     
  14. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    SD is not really suitable for testing need-to-reboot software. For easy testing of such stuff you'll need snapshot software.
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Re: Shadow defender

    Just how effective is shadow defender at achieving this goal?
     
  16. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,743
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Re: Shadow defender

    In a word. Superior! With no taxing of your good machine's energy resources.

    Scour thru the topics and posts of the many satisfied and knowledgable users to learn and answer all your inquiries.
     
  17. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Re: Shadow defender

    Thanks easter,i installed shadow defender earlier today and it runs like a charm.

    Taking into account how i use the internet i may even ditch my av altogether.
    What is your opinion on this?

    Thanks.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Re: Shadow defender

    @Amiga, what I am going to say is based on my personal experience. I ve been using LV programs for a little over three years. My only purpose for using this kind of program is for testing software that don't require a reboot. I only try well known programs and don't play with malware.

    During this time, twice I have found changes or stuff that should not survive a reboot in my hard drive. One of those times I was using Shadow defender. This particular time I was trying Palemoon in Shadow mode. While in Shadow mode, I imported a JSON Firefox bookmarks file into Palemoon. After rebooting to drop changes, my Firefox bookmarks were all messy. They all were there but the logo in the thumbnails was gone in all the bookmarks. All my bookmarks were blank, no picture on any of them. I have no explanation about what happened.

    Whatever, I know SD its not perfect but I truly believe this program is the best of its kind. That why I am using it in both of my computers and recommend it. I think everybody should be using something like SD.

    Bo
     
  19. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Thank you bo,
    I really like shadow defender and im going to keep it for sure.I have on demand scanners so what is your opinion on dumping the av altogether and using sandboxie and shadow defender.?

    Thanks again.
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    In my opinion, you should use one. Not using an AV is great and is really easy to do but whether you should drop using one or not is something that you have to feel it. Let me put it to you this way, when I stopped using one, I took the decision to do so on the spot, no pondering about it and no looking back neither. Never had to ask about it or ever felt naked. You know how people talk about feeling naked, right? If you feel naked, you should use one. Just my opinion my friend.

    In my case, I use Sandboxie on its own but I use it all the time and no one else touches my computers. I don't even have a OD scanner in my computers anymore but I developed into doing it like this. I never planned dropping using antiviruses, it just happened on its own.

    Bo
     
  21. CyberMan969

    CyberMan969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    589
    While understand Bo's point of view, personally I still think that multi-layered protection is still the best policy. I run Avast and Comodo firewall (both the free versions) and they both work very well with SD.

    SD is supposed to be the final safety net, the ultimate undo tool that will catch stuff that may be either sophisticated enough to bypass existing traditional antimalware protections, or just undo damage that may have been down to user error.

    One thing is pretty certain: Whatever you do, don't ever ditch your firewall!! Also make sure you use a firewall that has HIPS functions and is able to stealth your ports. Windows firewall doesn't really 'cut it' in my view.

    And keep your full backup of C: updated as you add new stuff you wanna keep.
     
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Thanks CM.
    Can i still shutdown the computer normally via the start menu and leave shadow mode on permanently?

    Thanks.
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes you can if you set SD to start on shadow mode on boot. Then you can turn off the computer as you normally do via Start menu.

    Bo
     
  24. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    281
    Location:
    Austria
    The above method seems to me quite complicated and moreover a little bit risky (for the reasons mentioned by CyberMan969 himself in the last part of the quote).

    I always test new software completely under activated Shadow Defender (that means: I do not commit anything from SD to the real system):

    - I activate Shadow Mode (for one session).
    - I install the software I am interested in and I test it.
    -- a) If I don't like the software: I simply restart my computer. (---> The installation [and of course the rest of the changes too] is completely gone.)
    -- b) If I like the software: I do the same, that means: I restart my computer.

    In case b) after restarting my computer (which happens outside of SD) I make a completely new installation of the software I like - this time on the real system.

    This applies also to software which requires a reboot: This software I cannot test fully within SD (not even with the method suggested by CyberMan969 as his method requires the committing); but nevertheless often you already get a first impression of the software by "installing" it (uncompletely) under SD, e.g. when you can see its user interface etc.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2013
  25. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,035
    That is exactly the way that I do it Peter

    Patrick

     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.