The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    So I bought a 2 year license and used it for a day. It is very light I don't even feel there is an AV on my system but more importantly, for some reason, my internet browsing is much snappier! pages load instantly now with 0 lag. Perhaps the Microsoft Firewall is not that good. Whatever the reason behind this, I am very happy with it.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,143
    Did you install the browser extensions? Assuming no, since you said that your browsing seemed faster.
     
  3. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    I did initially then I removed them. Browsing speed was the same though with or without the browser extensions
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,143
    Wow that is impressive. Maybe they have improved performance a bit.
     
  5. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    so much man, seriously it's like I just got a new internet connection, the same kinda snappiness feeling I had when upgrading from 56K diak up to 1 MBPS fibre optic. Seriously
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,143
    That is great to hear!
     
  7. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,054
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    I just installed Norton on my Win 7 desktop computer. I'll give it a test and see how good the speed is. So far so good. :)
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,098
    Location:
    USA
    I'm waiting to see if other responses verify that they actually fixed the browsing speed of the extensions. As they have been on version 22 for a few years now, I don't see much happening with this product. If they have fixed it I will be impressed but surprised.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton 22.16.4 update for Windows is now available!
     
  10. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    11,260
    Location:
    Here
    With eyes squarely on the cloud, Symantec acquires Israeli network security firm Luminate
    https://www.cyberscoop.com/symantec-luminate-security-acquisition/
     
  11. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,054
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    11,260
    Location:
    Here
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton 22.17 for Windows is now available!
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton 22.17.1.50 for Windows is now available!
     
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,143
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :thumb:
     
  17. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    I've been looking to purchase the old Norton Antivirus Basic online but I couldn't find it anywhere. Today I was at the computer plaza here in Dubai and went into a shop, they were selling cheap boxes Antivirus licenses like McAfee, ESET, and then I spotted a Norton Antivirus Basic for 15 USD! I bought it and went home, when I opened the box, there was a product key which I was instructed to enter in the Norton/Setup webpage which I did and then it downloaded the Norton Antivirus downloader! I installed it and man, I love this, a lean and clean Antivirus that's light minus all the bloatware! I then tried to renew it and the price was only 15 USD as well for the renewal! superb deal!
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Except for the browser extensions and so called tune-up features, right? ;)
     
  19. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    It didn't install any browser extension but yes there is this Performance Tuneup which I never bothered to run

    2019-05-12_031140.jpg
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    As soon as you use Edge, Firefox or Chrome you will probably be prompted to install up to four extensions. That's why Online Safety is grey. The Norton Toolbar most likely has already been installed in IE, whether you use that or not.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Also, if you open Settings > Administrative Settings you might like to disable Idle Time Optimizer > Apply, then Settings > Task Scheduling and uncheck ALL > Apply.

    When you install Norton it also disables Windows Disk Optimiser / Defrag, so you may want to re-enable that if you don't want Norton running that on its schedule.
     
  22. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    I do run Chrome and it didn't prompt me to install any extension but when I opened Edge (which I don't use), it took me to a page offering me 2 extensions and yes you're spot on about the Internet Explorer part although you can disable the add-on.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Be patient, I bet you will be.
     
  24. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    905
    Does it have SONAR?
     
  25. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    yes

    son.jpg
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.