The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    187
    I think it is included with the premium version still. I actually ran a trial of the premium and it was ok; it's just so difficult to trial. I had a Norton subscription for a couple of months 10 years ago and because I had that attached to my email I couldn't use that email address again. I had to create a temporary one, then if I wanted to buy it I would have to go back to my real one. Maybe not a big deal but the principle was dumb.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  3. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    187
    Norton family is included with Norton premium, or at least the subscription is included when you by Norton Premium. I downloaded the trial and could access it. It's kinda standalone but I can confirm. I agree the freemium is discontinued but if you buy premium you get access to Family, backup, and some other stuff. I really want to like Norton but they make it difficult. Although they do employ most of India so kudos for that
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  5. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    251
    I have a subcription to Life Lock and got free Norton security as part of it. It is called Norton Security Online. What is this version? Is it different from other versions of Norton?
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've only heard about that version being offered free by a certain ISP in USA, in this case, Comcast. I haven't heard about a retail version but I'll try and find out what I can.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @jjc225 ,

    Could you let us know your location and which ISP you use?

    Here's some information I received regarding NSO from another Norton Community Forum Guru, yank:
    I hope that helps.
     
  8. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    251
    Thanks Krusty. There is also apparently a Norton Security Online Premium version, but have not been able to find out much about it. Also, I was running NSO on one of my computers for a few days, but got a notice from the program saying that a patch needed to be installed on an update. I said yes, and then it ran for about 20 minutes and got a notice that the patch did not work and it had to be unwound. That took another 20 minutes. That was enough for me, and uninstalled.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Be sure you run the Norton Removal Tool (NRnR) then to ensure your machine is ready to accept your new AV of choice without interference from Norton.

    www.norton.com/nrt
     
  10. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    251
    I did, and after removing it I get a message from Norton that the version sent to me by LifeLock was old and not compatible with Windows 10 and to please reinstall with the new link they sent. I guess LifeLock and other companies offering NSO need to make sure they have the latest version to offer to customers.
     
  11. TheErzengel

    TheErzengel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    WWW
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I could be wrong but I thought I heard the subscription begins at the time of purchase. It would be worth checking anyway.
     
  13. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    This does not give me any confidence in buying that license.

    Comment from a user:

    If something is too good to be true, it probably is! 60 USD discount!? Yeah right
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,097
    Location:
    USA
    This is direct from Amazon Digital Services. I have bought this before. No issues and it does not start until you activate it. I didn't activate mine until 6 months after I bought it. They just put the key in your Amazon software library.
     
  15. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    494
    Location:
    Hungary
    person is complaining about renewal with this key, and support being idiots as usual.
     
  16. TheErzengel

    TheErzengel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    WWW
    The price of Amazon has already risen to 29.99 is still cheaper than on the official website of Norton. I never buy from Amazon and I can not give my opinion about it.
     
  17. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    494
    Location:
    Hungary
    same key for the same price is sold on g2a already.
     
  18. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    If you are already using Norton, you can activate the key without losing any subscription time.

    Say you have 60 days left. Do the Norton chat thing. They will have you add the activation key to your Norton account, and then they will merge the old activation remaining days with the new activation days. After the merge, all the days/months left on old key and new key will be there. Don't have to do anything to other computers using the same license.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,097
    Location:
    USA
    Correct, but I like to wait as I may decide to use another product in between and don't want to burn up the days for something I don't intend to use at the moment.
     
  20. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    11,257
    Location:
    Here
    Norton LifeLock develops new app to help consumers begin to take control of their online privacy
    https://www.helpnetsecurity.com/2019/01/29/norton-privacy-manager/
     
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    11,257
    Location:
    Here
    Symantec Boosts Endpoint Security With Improved Detection
    https://www.eweek.com/security/symantec-boosts-endpoint-security-with-improved-detection
     
  22. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    So how is Norton now in terms of performance? I mean, is it light on the system?
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,151
    I haven't used it for a year or so. But based on past experience, it is very light. It's not as good as Panda or ESET, for example, but not too far behind and is lighter than most antiviruses.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,789
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I can only compare it to Avast, KFA and WD, but it is lighter than all on my lowest specc'ed machine.
     
  25. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Dubai
    Thanks guys
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.