The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    187
    I think it is included with the premium version still. I actually ran a trial of the premium and it was ok; it's just so difficult to trial. I had a Norton subscription for a couple of months 10 years ago and because I had that attached to my email I couldn't use that email address again. I had to create a temporary one, then if I wanted to buy it I would have to go back to my real one. Maybe not a big deal but the principle was dumb.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,218
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  3. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    187
    Norton family is included with Norton premium, or at least the subscription is included when you by Norton Premium. I downloaded the trial and could access it. It's kinda standalone but I can confirm. I agree the freemium is discontinued but if you buy premium you get access to Family, backup, and some other stuff. I really want to like Norton but they make it difficult. Although they do employ most of India so kudos for that
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,218
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  5. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    243
    I have a subcription to Life Lock and got free Norton security as part of it. It is called Norton Security Online. What is this version? Is it different from other versions of Norton?
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,218
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've only heard about that version being offered free by a certain ISP in USA, in this case, Comcast. I haven't heard about a retail version but I'll try and find out what I can.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,218
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @jjc225 ,

    Could you let us know your location and which ISP you use?

    Here's some information I received regarding NSO from another Norton Community Forum Guru, yank:
    I hope that helps.
     
  8. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    243
    Thanks Krusty. There is also apparently a Norton Security Online Premium version, but have not been able to find out much about it. Also, I was running NSO on one of my computers for a few days, but got a notice from the program saying that a patch needed to be installed on an update. I said yes, and then it ran for about 20 minutes and got a notice that the patch did not work and it had to be unwound. That took another 20 minutes. That was enough for me, and uninstalled.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,218
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Be sure you run the Norton Removal Tool (NRnR) then to ensure your machine is ready to accept your new AV of choice without interference from Norton.

    www.norton.com/nrt
     
  10. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    243
    I did, and after removing it I get a message from Norton that the version sent to me by LifeLock was old and not compatible with Windows 10 and to please reinstall with the new link they sent. I guess LifeLock and other companies offering NSO need to make sure they have the latest version to offer to customers.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. mood
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    417
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.